Luiz Bonfa - Luiz Bonfa Plays and Sings Bossa Nova





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Total download size: 1.50GB Total play length: 35:20

Cover art included, liner notes not included

With bossa, simply everything goes and everything goes simply. A solitary voice, a simple wooden block or a solo guitar are all that are needed to conjure up the elementary forces of Brazilian music. But the great names didn't necessarily love a one-man show with a nameless band in the background but often wrote recording history by getting their individual teams together and combining their creative powers.

In Lalo Schifrin and Oscar Castro Neves, the guitar virtuoso and singer Luiz Bonfa had two top musicians at his side who all left their handwriting on this album. Schifrin worked on the large string arrangements while Bonfa put his pen to the songs for smaller ensembles. Well over half of the numbers recorded here are by Bonfa, who even shared his work with himself in that he lent his voice to side one of the record and his instrumental skills to side two. And though he proves that he can go it alone, as in the popular "One Note Samba," the less well-known but hear-worthy "Samba De Duas Notas" tells us that with more of a crowd things get even better.

1. Samba De Duas Notas (Two Note Samba)
2. Vem So (Come Here, My Love)
3. Sambalamento
4. Tristeza (Brazilian Blues)
5. Manha De Carnaval (Morning Of The Carnival)
6. Silencio Do Amor (The Silence Of Love)
7. Domingo A Noite (Sunday Night)
8. Ilha De Coral (Coral Island)
9. Adeus (Goodbye)
10. Quebra Mar (The Sea Wall)
11. Amor Que Acabou (The End Of Love)
12. Chora Tua Tristeza (Cry Your Blues Away)
13. Bossa Nova Cha Cha

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it