KISS - Unmasked


Universal Records



Product No.:
AUNI 715541
UPC: 602537715541
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

180-gram LP, pressed at Quality Record Pressings

First U.S. vinyl pressing since 1985

Kiss celebrates its 40th anniversary and its induction into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame with a series of individual 180-gram vinyl reissues from the band's celebrated catalog, including their 1998 effort Psycho Circus on vinyl for the very first time! 

Among the titles returning to record store shelves are the band's self-titled debut and sophomore Hotter Than Hell albums (both from 1974) as well as their double-live 1975 breakthrough album Alive! — which was already reissued back in 2008. Also arriving are 1976's Destroyer, 1979's Dynasty, 1980's Unmasked, 1983's Lick it Up, 1984's Animalize and 1992's RevengeQuality Record Pressings did the plating and pressing for these reissues, ensuring exceptional sound quality!

Unmasked is the first album by Kiss not featuring the four original members. Although featured on the album cover, drummer Peter Criss was replaced by session man and David Letterman band member Anton Fig. With disco all but dead and new wave setting in, the group took a pop approach with producer Vini Poncia at the helm. While the record may have alienated hard core fans that were used to the band's heavier sound, the record did manage to appeal to Kiss' ever growing kiddie base.

The band's lyrical content remained consistent though, as "Is That You?" describes a vixen-like character close to the group. "Shandi", the only single off the record, is a catchy pop ballad featuring Paul Stanley on lead vocals. Lead guitarist Ace Frehley contributes vocally to 2 tracks: "Talk To Me" and "Torpedo Girl", increasing his input in the group compared to previous years. Although Unmasked may not be Kiss's hardest rocking offering, it's certainly a tight, well crafted rock album that is thoroughly enjoyable and showcases the band's talents.


1. Easy As It Seems
2. Is That You?
3. Naked City
4. Shandi
5. She’s So European
6. Talk To Me
7. Tomorrow
8. Torpedo Girl
9. Two Side Of The Coin
10. What Makes The World Go ‘Round
11. You’re All That I Want

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it