David Crosby - Croz

 (+ Download Code)


Blue Castle Records



Product No.:
ABCR 114
UPC: 852550011438
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: Download Card offer subject to expiration.

180 Gram LP  

First studio solo album in 20 years, 11 new originals and guest appearances by Wynton Marsails, Mark Knopfler, Leland Sklar and Steve Tavaglione

180-gram vinyl plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Mastered by Doug Sax at The Mastering Lab

Album download included, also includes on the LP D side, "What's Broken" and "The Clearing" at 45 RPM

"It's the best solo record David Crosby has made, without a doubt. Beautifully produced and recorded, the musicianship is so tasteful. His voice sounds as good as it ever was." Celebrated record producer Glyn Johns

Quality Record Pressings is proud and excited to have helped produce a truly landmark new album from David Crosby, the legendary singer-songwriter of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young and The Byrds. Croz is Crosby's first studio album in more than 20 years, a collection of 11 new tracks from the two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Famer on Blue Castle records, the label he cofounded with Graham Nash in 2011. CrosbyJames Raymond (David's son), and Daniel Garcia produced Croz; and, Crosby and Raymond also co-wrote a number of the songs together. In addition to Crosby's band, the album features guest players including Wynton Marsalis ("Holding On To Nothing"), Mark Knopfler ("What's Broken"), Leland Sklar ("Find A Heart") and Steve Tavaglione ("Morning Falling," "Find A Heart").

In support of the release, Crosby and his touring band are performing a series of concert dates in early 2014. The shows will feature repertoire spanning Crosby's entire career, including songs from Croz and his 1971 solo debut If I Could Only Remember My Name, as well as selections from The Byrds, Crosby, Stills & Nash, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, and his partnership as a duo with Nash. Accompanying Crosby on the road are James Raymond (keyboards), Shane Fontayne (guitar), Kevin McCormick (bass), Steve DiStanislao (drums, percussion), and Marcus Eaton (guitar).

David Crosby is a two time Rock and Roll Hall of Famer, inducted as a member of both the iconic folk-rock band The Byrds — with whom he first rose to stardom — and the iconic Woodstock era-defining group Crosby, Stills & Nash. He is also a member of the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

"I wanted to challenge myself," Crosby told Rolling Stone, about the making of Croz. "Most guys my age would have done a covers record or duets on old material. ... I'm making it for me. I have this stuff that I need to get off my chest."

Work on Croz, which was recorded at Jackson Browne's Groove Masters studio in Santa Monica, California and James Raymond's home studio, began about two years ago. Croz, says Rolling Stone, is "a mellow, moody record unlike anything else in Crosby's vast catalog, and many songs were written while Crosby was touring with Crosby, Stills and Nash. "Writing, man, you take it when you can get it," Crosby says. "A snatch of words will come, a piece of melody, you hang onto it and work away at it."

Throughout Croz, Crosby explores a diverse set of subjects. "Morning Falling" is about America's drone strike policies, while "If She Called" — a stark track featuring nothing but soft electric guitar and Crosby's voice — was inspired by a group of young prostitutes that he saw near his hotel in Belgium.

Crosby formed The Byrds in L.A. in '63 with Roger McGuinn, Chris Hillman, Gene Clark and Michael Clarke, winning widespread recognition for his songwriting and charismatic presence. Driven by hits including "Eight Miles High," "Turn! Turn! Turn!," and a cover of Dylan's "Mr. Tambourine Man," The Byrds' signature electric folk-rock influenced countless musicians to come.

Crosby left The Byrds in 1967 to embark on a lifelong collaboration with Graham Nash and Stephen Stills. Renowned for vocal harmonies, stellar musicianship and timeless songs, Crosby, Stills, & Nash (CSN) have been called "the voice of a generation," and were Grammy-honored in 1969 as Best New Artist. The trio's self-titled debut album introduced classics including the Crosby-penned tracks "Guinnevere" and "Wooden Ships" - today, it is included on Rolling Stone's list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

As a solo artist, Crosby debuted with the 1971 masterpiece If Only I Could Remember My Name. He also performs and records with CPR, the jazz-flavored trio he formed in 1995 with his son James Raymond and Jeff Pevar. Crosby's last release was 2004's Crosby-Nash, a 2CD set with Graham Nash, their first as a duo since 1976's Whistling Down The Wire. Their debut LP together, '72's Crosby & Nash — featuring "Southbound Train" and "Immigration Man" — is regarded as one of the best side projects from the CSN&Y realm.

1. What's Broken
2. Time I Have
3. Holding On To Nothing
4. The Clearing
5. Radio
6. Slice of Time
7. Set That Baggage Down
8. If She Called
9. Dangerous Night
10. Morning Falling
11. Find A Heart

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it