Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Norah Jones - The Fall

Total download size: 1.81GB

Cover art and liner notes included

Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from 88.2 kHz/24 bit, which was the original source!

Part of Analogue Productions’ reissue of the Norah Jones’ solo catalog, featuring the individual albums Come Away With MeFeels Like HomeNot Too LateThe Fall and Little Broken Hearts. Each album is also featured in exclusive LP and SACD box sets that include Norah’s Covers album!

Norah has taken a new direction on The Fall, experimenting with different sounds and a new set of collaborators, including Jacquire King, a noted producer and engineer who has worked with Kings of Leon, Tom Waits and Modest Mouse. Richly detailed and vocally lush on this DSD format reissue by Analogue Productions, The Fall, Jones’ fourth album, may surprise some of Jones’ die-hard fans, Billboard magazine notes. During the 13-song set, Jones ditches the gentle piano playing of her previous work and tears into fresh, beat-savvy arrangements, playing plenty of electric guitar and exploring the piercing quality of Wurlitzer electric piano. Jones’ smoky voice and soulful veneer highlight the opening track and first single, "Chasing Pirates."

Jones displays a slinky kind of ambience on "Light As a Feather (co-written with Ryan Adams). The social commentary "It’s Gonna Be" offers a garage-rock attitude, and "You’ve Ruined Me" has a rich Americana flavor. But Jones is still a little bit country ("Tell Yer Mama") and a little bit rock’n’roll ("Stuck"). Overall, writes reviewer Gary Graff, Jones straddles those lines in an entirely different manner than she ever has before.

For The Fall, Jones enlisted several songwriting collaborators, including Ryan Adams and Okkervil River’s Will Sheff, as well as her frequent partners Jesse Harris and Richard Julian. Musicians include drummers Joey Waronker (Beck, R.E.M.) and James Gadson (Bill Withers), keyboardist James Poyser (Erykah Badu, Al Green) and guitarists Marc Ribot (Tom Waits, Elvis Costello) and Smokey Hormel (Johnny Cash, Joe Strummer).


1. Chasing Pirates
2. Even Though
3. Light as a Feather
4. Young Blood
5. I Wouldn't Need You
6. Waiting
7. It's Gonna Be
8. You've Ruined Me
9. Back to Manhattan
10. Stuck
11. December
12. Tell Your Mama
13. Man of the Hour

Customer Reviews (4.67 Stars) 3 person(s) rated this product.

Not as good as

posted on 04/01/2017
4 Stars
I was really puzzled when I first listened that I didn't get the incredible sound as I did with her "Come Away With Me" DSD download. Then I looked at the specs- The source for "Come Away With Me" was the original tapes which made the difference. The sound quality with this one is not "DSD level" IMO.

Update: I'm upping the stars to 4 because my Walkman does a good job with this.

Arguably her best album!

posted on 06/23/2015
5 Stars
Reviewer: RockStar2005
Although Norah's first 2 albums have some of her best (and most popular) songs, "The Fall" to me is probably her best and most solid studio effort! Pretty much every song on here is a winner, and it represents a more lively & rocking sound that she was wise to pursue. The new direction breathed new life into her music, and that's never a bad thing, especially when you have a few under the belt already.

"Chasing Pirates" kicks off the album and is a really catchy single. From there the album maintains itself well and never loses any steam. Other tracks like "You've Ruined Me" and "Tell Yer Mama" are also worth checking out.

With regards to the sound quality of this DSD, it is also fantastic and worth every penny to buy!! You hear every single note, nuance, and breath made by both Norah and all the instruments used on each and every track. Without a doubt, this is a must have!! artist=norah+jones&album=the+fall (Hi-Res vs DSD)

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.