Various Artists - Frankenweenie Unleashed! Soundtrack


Walt Disney Records



Product No.:
AWLT 183140
UPC: 050087288082
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Karen O's "Strange Love" is an original song featured in the end credits to Disney's movie "Frankenweenie," directed by Tim Burton. "Strange Love" is included on Frankenweenie Unleashed!, a 14-track compilation of music from and inspired by the film.

As singer/songwriter/composer and the lead singer for the rock band the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Karen O has collaborated with artists in music and film over the past ten years, including Spike Jonze, Trent Reznor, David Lynch, Flaming Lips, Barnaby Clay, Carter Burwell and many others. Karen composed the score for the acclaimed 2009 film Where The Wild Things Are (with Carter Burwell,) and she co-wrote the song All is Love (with Nick Zinner) which was nominated for a Grammy Award and Golden Globe for Best Original Song for a Motion Picture. Most recently, Karen contributed vocals to the Trent Reznor produced cover of Led Zeppelin's "Immigrant Song" for David Fincher's feature "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo."

"Tim [Burton] wanted an unconventional unconditional love song," Karen O told Rolling Stone. "My music inspiration came out of the same era of B movie fright film references sprinkled throughout the film. I went in the direction of exotica and calypso stylistically because it's quirky, good vibes music of that era .... I remember "Beetlejuice" introducing me to the genius of Harry Belafonte's calypso record so I wanted to give a nod to that too. We ended up with a love song for the end of the film to the film! "Frankenweenie" is so special, it's an unbelievable honor to be involved with it."

In addition to Karen O's 'Strange Love', the Frankenweenie Unleashed! collection features original songs and one cover inspired by the stop-motion film event. The diverse range of artists includes Robert Smith, Neon Trees, Mark Foster, Plain White Ts and Kimbra. This vinyl version also contains two additional bonus tracks from Finger Eleven and Sleeper Agent. 


Side 1
1. Strange Love – Karen O
2. Electric Heart (Stay Forever) - Neon Trees
3. Polartropic (You Don’t Understand Me) – Mark Foster
4. Almost There – Passion Pit

Side 2
5. Pet Sematary – Pain White T’s
6. With My Hands – Kimbra
7. Everybody’s Got A Secret – Awolnation
8. Immortal – Kerli

Side 3
9. My Mechanical Friend – Grace Potter featuring The Flaming Lips
10. Lost Cause – Imagine Dragons
11. Underground – Grouplove
12. Building a onter – Skylar Grey

Side B
13. Witchcraft – Robert Smith
14. Praise Be New Holland – Winona Ryder
15. Minds On Fire – Finger Eleven
16. Hind Legs – Sleeper Agent

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it