Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

The Who - Quadrophenia

 (Japanese Import)





Product No.:
CPLJ 9597 SA
EAN: 4988005857491

SHM Single Layer SACDs

Note: OBI Strip may or may not be included and packaging may change as stock from manufacturer varies.

Please note: These SHM-SACD reissues are packaged in plastic jewel cases, not cardboard mini-LP jackets.

Uses the 2012 DSD master based on U.K. original analog tape. Reissue features the high-fidelity SHM-SACD format (fully compatible with standard SACD player, but it does not play on standard CD players).

"An excellent and frequently astonishing album, Quadrophenia is both more ambitious and less accessible than Tommy, the first and most well-known rock opera. At its simplest level, Quadrophenia is a coming-of-age story with an awesome soundtrack. The album features some of the Who's finest material, in songs like the enraged 'Real Me,' the cynical 'Punk Meets the Godfather,' the wistful '5:15' and 'Sea and Sand,' and the powerful 'Love, Reign O'er Me.' The songwriting (courtesy of Pete Townshend) is top-notch, as is the production (the Who actually managed to use synthesizers in an original manner, something few rock bands can aspire to). The mix of powerful songwriting and skillful composition makes this one of The Who's finest moments." — 

1. I Am The Sea
2. The Real Me
3. Quadrophenia
4. Cut My Hair
5. The Punk And The Godfather
6. I'm One
7. The Dirty Jobs
8. Helpless Dancer
9. Is It In My Head
10. I've Had Enough
11. 5:15
12. Sea And Sand
13. Drowned
14. Bell Boy
15. Doctor Jimmy
16. The Rock
17. Love, Reign O'er Me

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 5 person(s) rated this product.

Very Impressive

posted on 02/21/2013
5 Stars
Reviewer: Rich
If your system is capable of producing the resolution of this disk you will feel at times like you are in the studio during the recording session. It is a steep price to pay but this is my favorite Who CD and I was never happy with the recording on the 80s version I have. A final thought, the clarity of KM's drums stands out for me even more than the Tommy multichannel SACD.

You know you want it...

posted on 06/09/2012
5 Stars
Reviewer: Protonboy
I have just about every version of this album. I bought the new box in shm. This is a special experience. There are characteristics of separate instruments joining to make a wall of sound that make this an amusement park for your ear bones. Sure is pricy.But,that is the price you pay for better technology being used on the other side of the planet. Worth working overtime to get it.Special.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.