Jimi Hendrix - South Saturn Delta





Product No.:
ALEG 57601
UPC: 886978576019
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP    

or Add to Wishlist

Limited edition, all-analog LP pressed on 180-gram audiophile-grade vinyl. Fifteen songs, 65 minutes of studio recordings, including alternate versions of "Angel," "Bleeding Heart," "Little Wing" and Bob Dylan's "Drifter's Escape." Many rare and previously unreleased recordings.

Originally released in 1997, South Saturn Delta is a collection encompassing every incarnation of Jimi Hendrix's recording career - including both versions of the Jimi Hendrix Experience, his expanded Woodstock ensemble Gypsy Sun & Rainbows and the Band of Gypsys. The album brings together 15 distinct studio performances, 65 minutes of rare and previously unreleased music. Alongside lost gems as "Tax Free," "Look Over Yonder" and "Pali Gap" stand previously unreleased recordings including "Here He Comes (Lover Man)," "Message To The Universe" and "Midnight Lightning." From demo recordings to finished masters, the guitarist's wide embrace of blues, ballads, rock, R&B and jazz is celebrated throughout the album which includes a 24-page full-color booklet with rare photos, credits and comprehensive liner notes. Providing new insights into Hendrix's creative process and unique approach to recording, South Saturn Delta showcases the development of signature songs like "Little Wing," "All Along The Watchtower" and "Angel" while "Power of Soul" and the jazz-influenced title track, among others, represent the guitarist's tantalizing first forays beyond the frontiers of jazz and funk.


1. Look Over Yonder
2. Little Wing
3. Here He Comes (Lover Man)
4. South Saturn Delta
5. Power Of Soul
6. Message To The Universe (Message To Love)
7. Tax Free
8. All Along The Watchtower
9. The Stars That Play With Laughing Sam's Dice
10. Midnight
11. Sweet Angel (Angel) (previously unreleased recording)
12. Bleeding Heart
13. Pali Gap
14. Drifter's Escape
15. Midnight Lightning

Customer Reviews (3.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Jimi Hendrix

posted on 05/16/2011
3 Stars
A bit disappointed with the version of Little Wing

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.