Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Billie Holiday - Songs For Distingué Lovers


Classic Records (Verve)



Product No.:
AVEC 6021Q

200 Gram Vinyl Record

200 Gram LP  

Down Beat's West Coast editor John Tynan gave this a four star review, remarking that it is "...loose, utterly relaxed, a top flight solo work." The great Lady Day is backed by Harry Edison's trumpet, Ben Webster on tenor sax, Jimmy Rowles on piano, Barney Kessel on guitar, Red Mitchell on bass and Alvin Stoller on drums.

"Recorded in 1957, this album doesn't find Billie in her finest voice, but she still had a commanding way of singing a story and knew how to swing with the band - which, in this case, included Ben Webster, Roy Eldridge, and Barney Kessel. The sound is lively, reverberant, and bright - in a good way." - Fred Kaplan, The Absolute Sound, December 2005 (included in Kaplan's "Best-Sounding Jazz LPs")

1. Day In- Day Out
2. A Foggy Day
3. Stars Fell on Alabama
4. One for My Baby
5. Just One of Those Things
6. I Didn't Know What Time It Was