Ernest Ansermet - Borodin: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 3/ Prince Igor Overture

Ernest Ansermet - Borodin: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 3/ Prince Igor Overture


Speakers Corner (London)



Product No.:
ALON 6126
EAN: 4260019710468
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

or Add to Wishlist

Ernest Ansermet conducts the L'Orchestre De La Suisse Romande performing Alexander Borodin's Symphony No. 2 in B Minor, Symphony No. 3 in A Minor and Prince Igor Overture.

Anyone believing in the old adage that science and the fine arts do not mix must rethink his ideas when he becomes acquainted with Alexander Borodin's biography and his music. The Russian professor of chemistry constantly stole time from his lectures in order to compose; it was musical elements and formulas rather than chemical ones that occupied him. Without a doubt, the Second Symphony in B Minor best reflects Russian feeling and temperament. It's rather harsh and mechanical theme is contrasted first by a lively little song and later by a conciliatory second subject. Cheerful and soothing melodies are heard in ever new combinations until the main theme returns once again and the movement is brought to a powerful close.

The Scherzo, with its throbbing horns, march rhythms and thrilling woodwinds, is equally electrifying. The contemplative Andante is followed by a highly explosive Finale based on two Russian dance melodies which are widely varied during the course of the music. Both old and new friends of Russian symphonic music are highly recommended to experiment in their own sitting-room laboratories with this musically and chemically pure vinyl pressing. (This LP was originaly only released as a London, so the reissue was released just like the original.)

1. Allegro (Symphony No. 2)
2. Scherzo Prestissimo (Symphony No. 2)
3. Andante (Symphony No. 2)
4. Finale Allegro (Symphony No. 2)
5. Moderato assai (Symphony No. 3)
6. Scherozo Vivo (Symphony No. 3)
7. Prince Igor Overture

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it