Grayson Capps - Rott 'N' Roll

Grayson Capps - Rott 'N' Roll


Hyena Records



Product No.:
AHYE 9368
UPC: 825005936815
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Grayson Capps releases his fourth album (and first LP), Rott 'N' Roll, on Hyena Records. The long-player's title stems from a phrase used by fans to characterize the music of this Southern troubadour. Prostitutes, alcoholics, vagrants and drifters often inhabit Grayson's songs, while his live performances are ignited by equal doses of raucous Southern soul, backcountry stomp and roadhouse blues. For Grayson himself, Rott 'N' Roll has come to represent the state of mind needed to play uncompromising roots music as a means for survival in the Dirty South; the yin and yang between debauchery of life on the road and the come down upon returning home. But as the album's opening track "Back To The Country" makes clear, when Rott 'N' Roll is the credo, even the ease of going home means, "eating cornbread and raising hell."

Recorded at Grayson's home studio in Franklin, Tennessee, he and co-producer Trina Shoemaker set out to capture the energy of his live performances. Subsequently, many of the final tracks were taken from first takes. Grayson and his band The Stumpknockers, featuring Tommy MacLuckie on lead guitar, Josh Kerin on bass and John Milham on drums, set up shop at his farmhouse, rehearsing during the afternoons and spending evenings around a bonfire in the backyard. If the spirit moved them, they'd cut a track, overdub a guitar part or record a drunken chorus of rednecks who'd often find their way to the sessions from all points south: "Gran Maw Maw" and "Big Ol' Woman" being case in point. If the inspiration wasn't flowing, they'd wander around the mountain that sits in back of Grayson's property, quite literally bonding with the Native American spirits. The album's second track, "Arrowhead," paints a picture of this idyllic setting. Having drawn comparisons over his first three albums to Tom Waits, Townes Van Zandt and Drive By Truckers, to name but a few, Rott 'N' Roll proves Grayson Capps an artist equally singular in vision as those to whom he's compared.

1. Back To The Country
2. Arrowhead
3. Gran Maw Maw
4. Psychic Channel Blues
5. The Waltz
6. Big Black Buzzard
7. Ike
8. Sun Don't Shine On Willy
9. Big Ole Woman
10. Guitar
11. Fear Fruit Bearing Tree
12. Sock Monkey
13. Bacon

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it