Horenstein/ Hindemith - Bruch: Scottish Fantasia/ Hindemith: Violin Concerto

Horenstein/ Hindemith - Bruch: Scottish Fantasia/ Hindemith: Violin Concerto


Speakers Corner (Decca)



Product No.:
ADEC 6035
EAN: 4260019710390
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP    

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

or Add to Wishlist

Violin Concerto - David Oistrakh, London Symphony Orchestra conducted by Jascha Horenstein and Paul Hindemith

Oistrakh's performance here is a complete revelation. Hindemith's concerto has never before blossomed into such rewarding lyricism. Even the orchestral contribution under the composer himself is strikingly passionate and with the soloist to provide many moments when the ear is ravished by the beauty of phrasing and inflection, the listener has much to enjoy. The recording is one of the very finest ever made of the combination of solo violin and orchestra. The Oistrakh/ Horenstein performance completely displaces its competitors. It is marvelously well recorded -- Oistrakh has never sounded so real on a disc before -- and the reading owes nearly as much to the conductor as the soloist. The expansive dignity of the opening of the brass sets shows immediately how fine the orchestral contribution is going to be and Oistrakh's playing throughout is ravishing, raising the statue of the work immeasurably. The slow movement is especially memorable. Recorded in September, 1962. John Culshaw, producer; Alan Reeve and Michael Mailes, engineers (we think). Rated 19 /20 in Robert Moon, Blue Back Guide.

1. Introduction (Grave)
2. Adagio Cantabile
3. Allegro
4. Andante Sostenuto
5. Finale (Allegro Guerriero)
6. Mässig Bewegte Halbe
7. Langsam
8. Lebhaft

Customer Reviews (4.50 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.

Hindemith Kicks Ass

posted on 09/11/2012
5 Stars
Reviewer: Triodeotl
This whole LP is fantastic. Great orchestral playing and the soloist if beyond superb. The Hindemith kicks ass and the sound is super with great sonority and lots of bass slam and hall ambience. Go get it now! Sweet violin tone that sounds very close. Oh the sound of the bow on the strings. What a sound!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.