Dexter Gordon Quartet - Manhattan Symphonie


Pure Pleasure Records (Columbia)



Product No.:
APPR 35608
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

"Based upon the diversity of music, quality of product and their extraordinary rate of progress, Pure Pleasure Records is our re-issue record company of the year."
- hi-fi+

From the opening notes of the classic ballad "As Time Goes By," we are fully aware that we're in the presence of a master. The tone is luminous; the placement of the notes, impeccable; the feeling profoundly affecting. More than almost any other improviser of his caliber, Gordon understands exactly why "the fundamental things apply." This expanded issue of Manhattan Symphonie includes two bonus tracks: Thelonious Monk's lustrous "Ruby my Dear" and a previously unreleased on vinyl rendition of "Secret Love," a Gordon favorite. In addition to the acclaimed writer Pete Hamill's wonderful original liner notes, there is a lovely reminiscence from pianist George Cables.

1. As Time Goes By
2. Moment's Notice
3. Tanya
4. Body and Soul
5. I Told You So
6. Ltd
7. Ruby, My Dear
8. Secret Love

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it