Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Sonny Rollins - A Night at The Village Vanguard (mono)


Classic Records (Blue Note)



Product No.:
ABNC 1581M

200 Gram Vinyl Record

200 Gram LP

Between March 1956 and November 1957, Sonny Rollins recorded two albums that would cement forever his rightful place as a jazz icon. Saxophone Colossus for Prestige in '56 would become a jazz masterpiece while the live "trio" recordings for Blue Note in late 1957 at the Village Vanguard would show another side of Rollins altogether. His somewhat daring use of basically replacing the piano with his tenor was not new for him nor would it be the last time; his Way Out West in early 1957 was a breakthrough landmark and later, Freedom Suite in 1958 would be his return to the triad. Operating at his creative peak, Rollins was making the art of extended soloing his own and was able to both focus and stretch each song out in extemporaneous thoughts and whims. Simply one of the greatest and most powerful live dates in the history of recorded jazz. Mastered and cut by Bernie Grundman on Classic's all-tube, pure-mono cutting system.

1. Old Devil Moon
2. Softly as in a Morning Row
3. Striver's Row
4. Sonnymoon for Two
5. A Night in Tunisia
6. I Can't Get Started