Mark Knopfler - Local Hero

 (Numbered Limited Edition Soundtrack)


Mobile Fidelity



Product No.:
AMOB 505
UPC: 821797150514

180 Gram Vinyl Record

New Arrival

180 Gram LP

*Limit 1 per customer per address!
(orders for more than 1 copy will be adjusted)
This item does not qualify for any discounts or free shipping.

Mastered from the original master tapes

Pressed at RTI for definitive sound!

The 1983 soundtrack for Local Hero was composed by Mark and features guest group The Acetones on "The Mist Covered Mountains" and "The Ceilidh." Three years removed from crafting Dire Straits' third album, Making Movies, band leader Mark Knopfler elected to adhere to the record's title and try his hand at doing just that in an aural way.

Written and performed to accompany the film Local Hero, the iconic guitarist's first soundtrack continues to serve as one of the decade's most prized scores. No wonder the BAFTA Award-nominated work has long eclipsed the Bill Forsyth film in stature, merit, and popularity — and emerged as the basis of a stage musical that debuted in Scotland in 2019.

Mark Knopfler: guitar, synthesizer, percussion, drums
Alan Clark: piano, organ synthesizer
Mike Brecker: saxophone
Terry Williams: drums

1. The Rocks and the Water
2. Wild Theme
3. Freeway Flyer
4. Boomtown (Variation Louis' Favourite)
5. The Way It Always Starts
6. The Rocks and the Thunder (I)
7. The Ceilidh and the Northern Lights
8. The Mist Covered Mountains
9. The Ceilidh: Louis' Favourite Billy's Tune
10. Whistle Theme
11. Smooching
12. Stargazer
13. The Rocks and the Thunder (II)
14. Going Home (Theme of the Local Hero)