The Sons Of Adam - Saturday's Sons - The Complete Recordings: 1964–1966

 (Deluxe Edition + Book)


High Moon Records



Product No.:
AHMO 013
UPC: 638126751126
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Deluxed edition gatefold double LP plus book!

Featuring members of Genesis and Love!

First-ever comprehensive anthology of the legendary 1960s L.A. Garage Gods!

Saturday's Sons: The Complete Recordings 1964-1966 gathers The Sons of Adam's complete studio output — spanning rare 45s, outtakes, and demo recordings — including fiery material from their early incarnation as The Fender IV as well as their fabled 1966 single, "Feathered Fish," donated to the band by Love's Arthur Lee. Most significantly, Saturday's Sons features a previously unreleased 1966 full concert performance from San Francisco's famed Avalon Ballroom — a vintage recording so exciting and powerfully dynamic that few will be in doubt of The Sons of Adam's lost potential.

In addition, Saturday's Sons: The Complete Recordings 1964-1966 includes a definitive 15,000-word essay of the group's unfulfilled reach for the brass ring by Grammy-nominated compilation producer Alec Palao, featuring the full cooperation of the band members and associates, and showcasing a stunning range of rare photos, poster art, and other previously unseen images.

Led by visionary guitarist Randy Holden (Blue Cheer, The Other Half) and featuring charismatic frontman Jac Ttanna (Genesis), bassist Mike Port, and drummer Michael Stuart-Ware (Love), The Sons of Adam were a lean, mean rock ‘n' roll machine, lighting up the Sunset Strip alongside such groundbreaking icons as The Byrds, Buffalo Springfield, The Doors, and The Mothers of Invention.

Schooled in surf and emboldened by the British Invasion, the band earned a reputation as a fearsome live act, known for blowing fellow artists off the stage with their high energy performance and voluble power. The quartet enjoyed a brief but incandescent three-year career, fueled by a fervent fan following who flocked to such world-famous Hollywood haunts as the Whisky A Go Go, Bido Lito's, and Gazarri's to thrill to their explosive sounds and passionate intensity.

Live at the Avalon, 1966
Side A - The Sons of Adam:
1. Everybody Needs Somebody to Love
2. Mr Sun
3. The Long Road
4. Evil Hearted You
5. It Won't Be Long
Side B - The Sons of Adam:
1. Saturday's Son
2. Go Away
3. Gloria
4. Feathered Fish (1966 Studio Recording)
5. Baby Show the World (1966 Studio Recording)

Singles & Outtakes
Side C - The Sons of Adam:
1. Take My Hand
2. Tomorrow's Gonna Be Another Day
3. I Told You Once Before
4. You Make Me Feel Good
5. Without Love
6. You're a Better Man Than I
7. Saturday's Son
Side D - The Fender IV:
1. Mar Gaya
2. You Better Tell Me Now
3. Malibu Run
4. Everybody Up
5. Lonely Surf Guitar
6. Highway Surfer
7. Little Oly

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it