Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Hank Williams - I'm Gonna Sing: The Mother's Best Gospel Radio Recordings

 (2019 Remaster)


BMG Rights Management



Product No.:
ABMG 693089
UPC: 405053869308
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 3
New Arrival


or Add to Wishlist

1st time ever on vinyl, The Mother's Best Gospel Radio Recordings in one special collection!

Available on 3LP 140-gram triple gatefold black vinyl

Produced by Cheryl Pawelski, restored and mastered by Michael Graves

New liner notes from Colin Escott

Includes "I Saw The Light," "Farther Along," "I'll Have a New Life," and "When The Saints Go Marching In"

Country star Hank Williams' Mother's Best Radio Shows were broadcast live on WSM out of Nashville, Tenn., and Hank was paid $100 a week for his work that usually consisted of one country song, one instrumental and a gospel song to close the show.

The Mothers Best flour shows were pre-recorded onto 16-inch transcription discs, each with two complete programs, to be played on the air when Hank was out performing on the road. Shelved for decades, these recordings were almost thrown in the trash before Les Leverett, a radio station employee, salvaged them and few years later sold them (for a relatively small fee) to Hillous Butrum the bass player of the Drifting Cowboys. In 1997 Butrum sold them to the Legacy Entertainment Group who were going to market them but were prevented from doing so by a lawsuit brought by the Williams estate. After an eight-year court battle it was established that the Williams estate — represented by Hank's daughter Jett, had the ownership rights to the material on the discs. The Williams estate then licensed Time-Life to issue the material in 2008.

Bob Pinson had arranged for Alan Stoker to transfer the transcription discs to tape at the Country Music Hall of Fame. Time-Life acquired those transfers and now they appear here for the first time on vinyl.

Side A
1. I Am Bound For The Promised Land
2. I'll Fly Away (Acetate Version 21)
3. Thirty Pieces Of Silver
4. The Old Country Church
5. Jesus Died For Me
6. Thy Burdens Are Greater Than Mine

Side B
1. Searching For A Soldier's Grave
2. Something Got Hold of Me - By Hank Williams, Audrey Williams & The Drifting Cowboys
3. When God Dips His Love In My Heart
4. Lord Build Me A Cabin
5. Drifting Too Far From The Shore
6. That Beautiful Home
7. I'm Gonna Sing (Acetate Version 157)

Side C
1. Lonely Tombs (Oh Those Tombs) [Acetate Version 7]
2. How Can You Refuse Him
3. Where He Leads Me
4. At The Cross
5. The Blind Child's Prayer
6. I Saw The Light (Acetate Version 3)
7. Farther Along

Side D
1. Gathering Flowers For The Master's Bouquet (Acetate Version 14)
2. I'll Have A New Life (Acetate Version 29)
3. Precious Lord Take My Hand
4. I Heard My Mother Praying For Me (Acetate Version 4) - By Hank Williams, Audrey Williams & The Drifting Cowboys
5. Steal Away / The Funeral
6. From Jerusalem To Jericho
7. I've Got A One-Way Ticket To The Sky

Side E
1. I Dreamed That The Great Judgement Morning
2. Softly And Tenderly
3. Where The Soul Never Dies
4. When The Fire Comes Down From Heaven
5. I Dreamed About Mama Last Night (Acetate Version 24)
6. The Prodigal Son

Side F
1. Jesus Remembered Me - By Hank Williams, Audrey Williams & The Drifting Cowboys
2. Dust On The Bible
3. Dear Brother (Acetate Version 5) - By Hank Williams, Audrey Williams & The Drifting Cowboys
4. The Pale Horse And His Rider
5. I Heard My Savior Calling Me (Acetate Version 147)
6. Wait For The Light To Shine (Acetate Version 24)
7. When The Saints Go Marching in

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it