Peter Jermihov - Rachmaninoff: All Night Vigil, Op. 37


Reference Recordings



Product No.:
AREF 2521
UPC: 030911252113
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP  

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram double LP

Half-speed mastered

Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Gloriae Dei Cantores releases All-Night Vigil, Op. 37 by Sergei Rachmaninoff, now on vinyl!

"We are invited to lift our spirits through a deeply inspired performance of Rachmaninoff's All-Night Vigil. This performance rings with devotional majesty . . . " — Audiophile Audition

"The sound produced by Jermihov's choir is marvelous. Peter Jermihov and his distinguished combined choir offer a very fine performance indeed and the excellent sound...suits the performance very well indeed. This new disc is a splendid achievement and I've found listening to it an uplifting and rewarding experience." — Music Web International

Gloriae Dei Cantores releases All-Night Vigil, Op. 37 by Sergei Rachmaninoff, conducted by Peter Jermihov (internationally recognized specialist in Russian and Orthodox Liturgical music). Rachmaninoff s All Night Vigil is made up of texts taken from the Russian Orthodox All-night vigil ceremony. Critics praised the work as Rachmaninoff's finest achievement and the greatest musical achievement of the Russian Orthodox Church. It was also one of the composer s favorite compositions, and the fifth movement was sung at his funeral.

Gloriae Dei Cantores is joined by members of the St. Romanos Cappella, The Patriarch Tikhon Choir, and The Washington Master Chorale. Protodeacon under the First Hierarch of the Russian Orthodox Church, Vadim Gan, sings the clergy exclamations as well as Dmitry Ivanchenko. Soloists, Dmitry Ivanchenko and Mariya Berezovska, from the National Opera of Ukraine in Kiev, join the choir of 77 singers for this landmark collaboration and recording. Recorded, edited and mastered by Reference Recordings' engineering team: Keith O. Johnson and Sean Royce Martin.

Side A
1. Come, Let Us Worship
2. Bless the Lord, My Soul
3. Blessed Is The Man
4. Gentle Light

Side B
1. Now Lettest Thou
2. Rejoice, Virgin
3. The Lesser Doxology
4. Praise The Name of the Lord

Side C
1. Blessed Art Thou, Lord
2. Having Beheld the Resurrection of Christ
3. My Soul Magnifies the Lord

Side D
1. The Great Doxology
2. Troparion “Today Salvation Has Come”
3. Troparion “Thou Didst Rise from the Tomb”
4. To Thee, the Victorious Leader

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it