Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Frans Bruggen - Beethoven: The 9 Symphonies


Esoteric (Decca)



Product No.:
CDEC 90233-37 SA
EAN: 4907034223596
In Stock

Hybrid Stereo SACD

No. of Discs: 5
New Arrival

Hybrid Stereo SACD

or Add to Wishlist

Limited edition SACD five-disc set!

Ludwig van Beethoven's 9 symphonies are performed on period instruments by the Orchestra of the 18th Century, conducted by Frans Brüggen, in addition to Overture "Egmont" and Overture "Coriolan" with the Gulbenkian Choir, Lisbon.

Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (Esoteric Company)
Remastering Engineer: Masaya Higashino (JVC Mastering Center Daikanyama Studio)
SACD Authoring: Atsuo Fujita (Ef Limited)

• Five Disc Super Audio CD
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• DSD Mastering
• Made in Japan



Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Disc 1
Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21
1. I. Adagio molto - Allegro con brio
2. II. Andante cantabile con moto
3. III. Menuetto (Allegro molto e vivace)
4. IV. Finale (Adagio - Allegro molto e vivace)

Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36
1. I. Adagio molto - Allegro con brio
2. II. Larghetto
3. III. Scherzo (Allegro)
4. IV. Allegro molto

Overture "Egmont", Op. 84 (from the music to J.W. von Goethe's tragedy)
1. Sostenuto, ma non troppo - Allegro

Overture "Coriolan", Op. 62 (to H.J. von Collin's tragedy)
1. Allegro con brio

Disc 2
Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, Op. 55 "Eroica"
1. I. Allegro con brio
2. II. Marcia funebre (Adagio assai)
3. III. Scherzo (Allegro vivace)
4. IV. Finale (Allegro molto)

Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93
1. I. Allegro vivace e con brio
2. II. Allegretto scherzando
3. III. Tempo di menuetto
4. IV. Allegro vivace

Disc 3
Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60
1. I. Adagio - Allegro vivace
2. II. Adagio
3. III. Allegro vivace
4. IV. Allegro ma non troppo

Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68 "Pastorale"
1. I. Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande (Allegro ma non troppo)
2. II. Szene am Bach (Andante molto mosso)
3. III. Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute (Allegro)
4. IV. Gewitter, Sturm (Allegro)
5. Hirtengesang. Frohe und dankbare Gefühle nach dem Sturm (Allegretto)

Disc 4
Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67
1. I. Allegro con brio
2. II. Andante con moto
3. III. Allegro
4. IV. Allegro

Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
1. I. Poco sostenuto - Vivace
2. II. Allegretto
3. III. Presto - Assai meno presto
4. IV. Allegro con brio

Disc 5
Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 "Choral"
1. I. Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso
2. II. Molto vivace
3. III. Adagio molto e cantabile
4. IV. Presto
5. "O Freunde, nicht diese Töne!"
6. Allegro assai
7. Alla marcia (Allegro vivace assai)
8. Andante maestoso - Adagio non troppo, ma divoto
9. Allegro energico, sempre ben marcato
10. Allegro ma non tanto

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it