Dave Alvin - From An Old Guitar: Rare And Unreleased Recordings

 (+ Download Code)


Yep Roc Records



Product No.:
AYEP 2769
UPC: 634457276918
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Double LP

16 songs from Dave Alvin's vaults, including two unreleased tracks!

Includes covers of songs by Bob Dylan, Peter Case, Chris Smither, Waylong Jennings, more!

Plus a few Dave Alvin originals, and six tracks previously only available on Yep Roc's webstore

From singer-songwriter Dave Alvin comes From An Old Guitar, an album of rare and unreleased recordings featuring his own originals as well as songs by dear friends — Peter Case, Bill Morrissey and Chris Smither, and covers of songs by his heroes — Willie Dixon, Bob Dylan, Marty Robbins, Bo Carter and others.

Says Alvin about the album:

"I own a few old guitars. Unlike some guitar players, I don't have a huge collection of vintage guitars, only a few choice instruments that I fell in love with when both the guitars and I were younger and closer to mint condition. Over the decades of constant touring and recording, my 1964 Fender Stratocaster, 1934 National Steel Bodied Duolian, 1954 Martin 00018, 1958 Martin D28 and I have shared a lot of good times and some not so good times, some great gigs and more than a few terrible ones, some tough studio sessions and, without a doubt, many more fun ones. The recordings on this album are all from fun sessions.

"Some of these tracks were original songs recorded for albums of mine but wound up being left off for one reason or another while others were recorded for various tribute albums. The majority, though, were recorded for no other reason at all than the sheer kicks of going into a recording studio to make some joyous noise with musicians and singers that I love and admire. There's some acoustic blues and ballads, rocking electric barroom blues, folk/rock, country/rock and some mixtures of all those styles. There's songs written by dear friends like Peter Case, Bill Morrissey and Chris Smither, while some written by heroes like Willie Dixon, Bob Dylan, Doug Sahm, Lil' Hardin Armstrong, Marty Robbins and Bo Carter. If I had a few extra bucks in my pocket, I'd book a day in the studio, call some old (or new) friends, comrades and co-conspirators to join me and see what would happen. No pressure, no expectations, just making music for the transcendental thrill of, well, making music.

"I've always been lucky to be surrounded by musicians who are better than I am. These recordings are no exception. I'm proud and happy that there are some of my fellow old Blasters pals on this disc along with my lifelong guitar guru, Greg Leisz, plus members of The Guilty Men/Women/Ones among the varied, infinitely talented musicians and singers who joined me in recording these tracks. I'm especially moved to have some beloved ghosts appearing on this album. I'll admit to getting more than a bit misty eyed hearing performances from the late Bobby Lloyd Hicks and Amy Farris and I have no shame in saying that having my late, best friend Chris Gaffney playing and singing with me again, can get me crying like a newborn while smiling like a big, happy goofball.

"I sincerely hope you enjoy these songs (and the musicians/singers bringing them to life). These recordings may be rare, unreleased or little heard but I'm very proud of them and they hold a very special, warm place in my heart. Just like my old guitars."

Side A
1. Link Of Chain
2. Highway 61 Revisited
3. Variations On Earl Hooker's Guitar Rhumba
4. Amanda

Side B
1. Albuquerque
2. Mobile Blue
3. Perdido Street Blues
4. On The Way Downtown

Side C
1. Inside
2. Krazy And Ignatz
3. Peace
4. Man Walks Among Us

Side D
1. Beautiful City 'Cross The River
2. Dynamite Woman
3. Who's Been Here
4. Signal Hill Blues

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it