Bob James - Once Upon A Time: The Lost 1965 New York Sessions

 (Numbered Limited Edition)


Resonance Records



Product No.:
ARES 9045
UPC: 712758040435
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist


Bob James Once Upon A Time: The Lost 1965 New York Studio Sessions!

First-ever archival release of previously-unissued Bob James music

First released exclusively for Record Store Day

Repertoire of bebop standards and experimental original compositions

Mastered by Bernie Grundman and pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI

Includes insert with rare photos by Tom Copi, essay by Mark Stryker, interviews with James, Bob Pozar, pianist Makoto Ozone, and more!

Once Upon A Time: The Lost 1965 New York Studio Sessions is a previously-unissued release of studio recordings from pianist Bob James captured with no audience at Wollman Auditorium at Columbia University in New York City in 1965 by Resonance founder and co-president George Klabin. This limited-edition 180-gram LP features James in two different trio settings — one from January 20, 1965 with bassist Larry Rockwell and drummer Bob Pozar, and one from October 9, 1965 with bassist Bill Wood and drummer Omar Clay — performing a mix of jazz standards and original compositions.

The title track "Once Upon A Time" was named by James as an homage to the ONCE Festival of New Music in Ann Arbor, MI which ran from 1961-1966 and holds a special place in his early musical career. The deluxe gatefold set includes an extensive booklet with essays by jazz writer Mark Stryker (Jazz from Detroit) and engineer George Klabin; new interviews with Bob James and Makoto Ozone, and a 2011 interview with Bob Pozar by Hank Shteamer (Rolling Stone); plus rare archival photographs by Tom Copi. Mastered by Bernie Grundman, cut at 33 1/3 RPM and pressed by RTI.

January 20, 1965 (with Larry Rockwell on bass and Robert Pozar on drums):

Serenata (5:46)
Once Upon A Time (7:00)
Lateef Minor 7th (7:36)
Variations (6:22)

October 9, 1965 (with Bill Wood on bass and Omar Clay on drums):

Airegin (4:42)
Indian Summer (5:10)
Solar (5:22
Long Forgotten Blues (9:01)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it