Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Maceo And All The King's Men - Doing Their Own Thing





Product No.:
ACLY 122
EAN: 5060767440858
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

An album revered by contemporary funk fans!

Having been an integral part of James Brown's backing band since 1964, saxophonist Maceo Parker, together with his drummer brother Melvin and other band members, eventually split from the Godfather of Soul in 1970 to forge their own horn-driven funk outfit. Over a two year period, All The King's Men toured extensively and cut two albums of which Doing Their Own Thing was the first.

Produced by BB Cunningham and Ray Riley at the Sounds of Memphis Studio and featuring original material by the band, the album showcases the not inconsiderable talents of trumpeter Richard Griffith (later to join George Clinton's Parliament-Funkadelic) as well as Eldee Williams (alto sax), Alfonzo Kellum and Jimmy Nolen (guitars), with Maceo providing vocals on three of the tracks.

Revered by contemporary funk fans this is a welcome reissue for a highly sought-after album which has long been unavailable on vinyl.

Side A
1. Maceo
2. Got to Get' Cha
3. Southwick
4. Funky Women

Side B
1. Shake It Baby (Keep On Shakin' It)
2. Better Half
3. Don't Waste This World Away
4. Mag-Poo
5. (I Remember) Mr. Banks

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it