Various Artists - Newvelle Volume One

 (Clear Vinyl)


Newvelle Records



Product No.:
UPC: 377000763301
EAN: 3770007633019
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

180-gram clear vinyl LP pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Newvelle Records compilation album from the first three subscription seasons!

"Newvelle Volume One offers eight numbers from various label sessions, including two previously unreleased numbers. The album begins with a gorgeously restrained version of the ballad 'Last Night When We Were Young' led by pianist Frank Kimbrough. Almost the first sounds we hear, focused and sensitive, come from Andy Zimmerman’s tenor saxophone. Next, the mood changes totally when guitarist Lionel Loueke is heard in a lively duet, 'Aziza,' with pianist Kevin Hays. It’s a two-person carnival. With tenor Ted Nash and guitarist Steve Cardenas, bassist Ben Allison recreates and modernizes Jimmy Guiffre’s trio number, 'Pony Express.'  This is chamber music at its best. For Newvelle addicts, the anthology’s highlights are pianist Don Friedman’s previously unreleased 'If I Should Lose You' and Steve Cardenas’ 'There in a Dream,' which begins with Thomas Morgan’s richly rendered bass solo: the sound is detailed as well as warm. I’ve heard Morgan from a few feet away. This is the way he sounds up front, and it’s worth the price of admission." — Michael Ullman, The Arts Fuse, Sept. 24, 2020. Read the entire review here.

"Newvelle Records releases are, one-after-another, simply stunning to behold." — Devore Fidelity

Experience the full beauty of vinyl. Newvelle Volume One is a thoughtfully curated selection of tunes from the first three Newvelle subscription seasons, including two previously unreleased tracks available exclusively as part of the compilation.

Recorded and pressed with the attention to detail that sets Newvelle apart, Newvelle Volume One is a taste of the exceptional vinyl quality and distinct artistic vision that has been praised by The New York Times as a "throwback to jazz's midcentury glories."

Newvelle Volume One offers a unique window into the label's earliest days, including the sold-out second and third seasons, and is perfect for those who love the warm sound of new jazz on vinyl. The collection was curated by Artistic Director Elan Mehler and features artwork from celebrated Season One photographer Bernard Plossu.

Featuring music by Lionel Loueke, Kevin Hays, Rufus Reid, Bill Frisell, Skúli Sverrisson, Steve Cardenas, Don Friedman, Leo Genovese, Ben Allison, Frank Kimbrough, Esperanza Spalding, Jack Dejohnette, Ted Nash, Thomas Morgan and more. Newvelle Volume One is produced with the same commitment to quality as is every record the company releases, and is pressed on 180-gram vinyl by Gary Salstrom and his crew at Quality Record Pressings, manufacturers of the world's finest-sounding LPs.


Side 1
1. Last Night When We Were Young – Frank Kimbrough
2. Aziza – Kevin Hays and Lionel Loueke
3. There In A Dream – Steve Cardenas (Previously Unreleased)
4. This I Ask of You – Rufus Reid

Side 2
1. Pony Express – Ben Allison
2. Olha Maria – John Patitucci
3. Vanishing Point – Skuli Sverrisson with Bill Frisell
4. Cosmic Church – Leo Genovese
5. If I Should Lose You – Don Friedman (Previously Unreleased)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it