Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Duke Ellington - Piano in the Background


Classic Records (Columbia)



Product No.:
ACCS 8346Q
Limited Stock

200 Gram Vinyl Record

200 Gram LP  
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

Piano In The Background is the sister, albeit earlier, recording to Piano In The Foreground but this time featuring Ellington with orchestral accompaniment. The band is amazing as are the original three-track master tapes used to cut directly to master lacquer on Bernie Grundman’s all-tube cutting system.

1. Happy Go Lucky Local
2. What Am I Here For
3. Kinda Dukish
4. Rockin' in Rhythm
5. Perdido
6. I'm Beginning to See the Light
7. Midriff
8. It Don't Mean a Thing
9. Main Stem
10. Take the ''A'' Train

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.

Thunder, Power, Texture and Subtlety

posted on 05/04/2021
5 Stars
Reviewer: JKT
This album sounds very, very good. This is a top flight pressing. The actual music on this album is also exceptionally good. This band is incredible. They are capable of tremendous power and thunder on end of the spectrum. Amazing softness, detail and subtlety on the other end. As far as big bands go this one is a blazingly, brutal force to be reckoned with. Highly recommend if you like big bands.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.