Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Spiritualized - And Nothing Hurt

 (Limited Edition On Pink Vinyl To Support Breast Cancer Awareness Month)


Fat Possum



Product No.:
UPC: 767981167558
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Part of the Ten Bands One Cause Breast Cancer Awareness promotion

John Prine, Third Eye Blind, Spiritualized, and the Mark Lanegan Band are among the artists who are taking part in the sixth annual Ten Bands One Cause pink vinyl campaign to raise money for Gilda's Club NYC, a charity that provides support for cancer patients and their loved ones.

Ten Bands reissue their albums on limited edition pink vinyl, all for one cause, throughout September and October. The initiative has raised more than $236,000 for Gilda's Club NYC, an organization named after Saturday Night Live comedian Gilda Radner, who passed away from cancer at the age of 43 in 1989.

This year's limited pink vinyl releases will be available for purchase at retailers nationwide wherever vinyl is sold. The full list of participating artsts includes Amanda Palmer, Colter Wall, John Prine, Courtney Marie Andrews, Spiritualized, Lacuna Coil, Third Eye Blind, Mark Lanegan, Saves The Day, and Sunn O))).

Breast cancer affects 1 in 8 women during their lives and is the second-leading cancer killer of women in the U.S.; men are also vulnerable to the disease.

These bands and their record labels will be messaging out to their fans and potential customers the opportunity to support this great cause. These are the same full-length albums, made available on pink vinyl for the first time. All will feature different variants of pink vinyl and all will have the Ten Bands One Cause marketing sticker attached.

Jason Pierce does not make casual records. Since the start of his career, nearly four decades ago, the co-founder of Spacemen 3 and the center of the Spiritualized universe has dived headlong into sounds, styles, and themes with ecclesiastical obsessiveness.

In Spiritualized, the audacious band through which he's pursued pharmaceutical and romantic salvation for the past quarter-century, he has compromised nothing, sparing no expense or indulgence. A gospel choir quoting Elvis, an ambulance-siren orchestra embodying addiction, a string ensemble stretching for heaven: Spiritualized have always aimed to match the grandness of Pierce's subject matter, monumental stuff like sex and death, God and despair. Pierce does not cobble songs into albums; though erratic, he aims to make masterpieces, unified responses to our biggest anxieties.

In And Nothing Hurt Pierce simply distills and gathers the essence of what has often made Spiritualized so powerful-hypnotic hymns of self-doubt, charging rock songs about confusion, swooning R&B odes to love-setting aside his past compulsion to make an overarching statement in favor of making a compact album. Some of these songs, like the romantic "Let's Dance," are as soft and warm as Christmas lights strung above a dive bar; others, like the caustic "The Morning After," are as cutting and jarring as teenage pain. Taken together, they feel like Pierce coming to comfortable terms with his legacy.

1. A Perfect Miracle
2. I’m Your Man
3. Here It Comes (The Road) Let’s Go
4. Let’s Dance
5. On The Sunshine
6. Damaged
7. The Morning After
8. The Prize
9. Sail On Through

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it