Wendell Harrison - Dreams Of A Love Supreme


Tidal Waves Music



Product No.:
UPC: 742338383638
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

New Arrival

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

First vinyl reissue since its 1980 release

180-gram black vinyl, limited to 500 copies!

Includes unreleased bonus track

Wendell Harrison's Dreams Of A Love Supreme is a monster album that features an all-star lineup that includes Phil Ranelin (Freddie Hubbard, Solomon Burke, Mulatu Astakte) on trombone, Harold McKinney (Tribe) on keyboards and Roy Brooks (Yusef Lateef, Chet Baker, Mingus) on percussion.

In the early 1990s, Wendell Harrison was awarded the title of "Jazz Master" by Arts Midwest. This distinction led Harrison to collaborate with fellow honorees and gave him the chance to tour throughout the United States, Middle East and Africa. Even to this day Wendell Harrison's recordings for the Tribe, Wenha and Rebirth labels have a large worldwide fanbase. It is on Wenha that Harrison released Dreams Of A Love Supreme.

Although on the album you can hear the '80s creeping in with a smoother sound, more synths, and disco/R&B vocals... this remains a very spiritual (and soulful) jazz record. The record's an irresistible blend of soul jazz combined with funky electric instrumentation...a groovy sound which is very much of its time, yet overtly timeless and as relevant today as it was back when it was initially released.




1. Take Time Out
2. Sea Minor Blues
3. Pink Snowballs and Violet Skies
4. Belle Isle
5. Where Am I
6. Dreams Of a Love Supreme
7. Patrina's Dance (bonus track)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it