Bill Frisell - Nashville

 (Limited Edition)


Run Out Groove (ROG Cornerstones)



Product No.:
UPC: 075597929263

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

From Run Out Groove, new expanded 2LP edition Nashville by Bill Frisell

First time the genre-crossing classic is available on vinyl!

Includes never-before-seen photos from the recording session

Mastered for vinyl by Greg Calibi at Sterling Sound

Pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Record Industry in the Netherlands

Deluxe gatefold tip-on Stoughton Printing jacket

Second ROG's Cornerstones title, limited to 3,000 copies worldwide!

This is a Run Out Grooves Cornerstone title — Limited edition titles ROG feels should be a part of every vinyl LP collection. Bill Frisell is an American guitarist, composer and arranger who grew up in the Denver area. He studied guitar with Johnny Smith at Northern Colorado University and then with Jim Hall and Jon Damian at Boston's Berklee College of Music. Frisell's first major break came when guitarist Pat Metheny had to miss a recording session and recommended Bill to Paul Motian who was recording Psalm for ECM Records in 1982.

Frisell eventually became ECM's in-house guitar player. His first solo release was In Line on ECM in 1983. Soon after, he moved to New York and forged a partnership with John Zorn and his band Naked City. He also became known for his work with Paul Motian's trio, along with saxophonist Joe Lovano. In 1988, Bill moved to Seattle, where he has been ever since. In the early '90s he released two of his best-reviewed albums: Have A Little Faith and This Land. He disbanded his trio by the mid-1990s and began to incorporate more elements of bluegrass and country music into his work. His friendship with cartoonist Gary Larson led him to provide music for the TV version of The Far Side.

Nashville is Bill's ninth album and his first to be recorded in Nashville, Tenn. The album was recorded at Sound Emporium between 1995-1996 and released April 29, 1997 on Nonesuch Records. It features performances by Viktor Krauss, Jerry Douglas, Ron Block and Adam Steffey, with guest appearances from Robin Holcomb on vocals and Pat Bergeson on harmonica. The All Music review by Jason Ankeny gave the album five stars, saying "the record is both genuine and alien-while played with real affection for the country form and without any avant posturing, its sound is original and distinct, a cinematic variation on C&W tenets."

After 21 years, Run Out Groove is finally making this genre-bending classic available on vinyl. Mastered for vinyl by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound, this 2LP set is pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Record Industry and comes in a beautiful gatefold Stoughton tip-on jacket.

1. Gimme A Holler
2. Go Jake
3. One Of These Days
4. Mr. Memory
5. Brother
6. Will Jesus Wash The Bloodstains From Your Hands
7. Keep Your Eyes Open
8. Pipe Down
9. Family
10. We´re Not From Around Here
11. Dogwood Acres
12. Shucks
13. The End Of The World
14. Gone

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it