Howard Shore - The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings

 (Limited Edition 180 Gram 5 LP Box Set on Blue Colored Vinyl)





Product No.:
ARHI 565277
UPC: 603497862627

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 5

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings (5LP 180 Gram Blue Vinyl)

Numbered edition limited to 8,000 copies

Extensive liner notes by Doug Adams

The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers - The Complete Recordings on vinyl for the first time as a 5LP boxed set. Housed in a collector's box with a blue leather-style spine, the collection is limited to 8,000 individually numbered copies on blue vinyl.

"When it opened in theaters, The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers ran one minute short of three hours; the subsequent DVD version added another 44 minutes. An even greater increase is seen here. The single-disc soundtrack album that was released initially crossed the 70-minute threshold, but this expansion, following a similar one for the first installment in the trilogy, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, adds much more material.

"In fact, at three hours, eight minutes, and 44 seconds, it goes on longer than the theatrical version of the movie itself and contains some music not actually heard in the film. Also included is a 45-page booklet featuring extensive liner notes by Doug Adams going into great detail, with sheet music examples, about composer Howard Shore's approach to writing music for the epic story. Much of the music is extrapolated from themes created for the first movie, but this score is more various, appropriate to a film in which the protagonists split into different groups and pursue separate adventures for much of the screen time." — AllMusic

LP 1
Side 1
01 Glamdring
02 Elven Rope
03 Lost In Emyn Muil
04 My Precious
05 Uglúk's Warriors
06 The Three Hunters
Side 2
01 The Banishment of Éomer
02 Night Camp
03 The Plains Of Rohan
04 Fangorn
05 The Dead Marshes

LP 2
Side 1
01 "Wraiths On Wings"
02 Gandalf the White
03 The Dreams Of Trees
04 The Heir of Númenor
Side 2
01 Ent-draught
02 Edoras
03 The Court Of Meduseld
04 Théoden King / "The Funeral of Théodred" (feat. Miranda Otto)
05 The King's Decision

LP 3
Side 1
01 Exodus From Edoras
02 The Forests Of Ithilien
03 One of the Dúnedain / "Evenstar" (feat. Isabel Bayrakdarian)
Side 2
01 The Wolves of Isengard
02 Refuge At Helm's Deep
03 The Voice Of Saruman
04 Arwen's Fate / "The Grace of the Valar" (feat. Sheila Chandra)
05 The Story Foretold

LP 4
Side 1
01 Sons Of The Steward
02 Rock And Pool
03 Faramir's Good Council
04 Aragorn's Return
05 War Is Upon Us
Side 2
01 "Where Is The Horse And The Rider?"
02 The Host Of The Eldar
03 The Battle Of The Hornburg
04 The Breach Of The Deeping Wall
05 The Entmoot Decides

LP 5
Side 1
01 Retreat / "Haldir's Lament" (feat. Elizabeth Fraser)
02 Master Peregrin's Plan
03 The Last March of the Ents (feat. Ben Del Maestro)
04 The Nazgûl Attack
05 Théoden Rides Forth (feat. Ben Del Maestro)
Side 2
01 The Tales That Really Matter
02 "Long Ways to Go Yet" / "Gollum's Song" (feat. Emiliana Torrini)

Customer Reviews (3.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Great music - not so great pressing

posted on 09/17/2018
3 Stars
Everyone knows how wonderful the Lord of the Rings scores are - some of the greatest of all time. Unfortunately, this pressing is noisy. It’s not the pops and cracks so much as the inexplicable “rushing” sounds that are not present on the CD. At this price these should be premium quality, but for whatever reason, Rhino has disappointed. I did not buy The Fellowship of the Ring on vinyl so I don’t know how this compares.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.