Jim James - Uniform Distortion

 (+ Download Code)


ATO Records



Product No.:
AATO 27811
UPC: 880882327811
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist


Gatefold black vinyl LP

Limited time album download included

My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James is back with a new solo album Uniform Distortion via ATO Records. James produced Uniform Distortion with Kevin Ratterman at Louisville, KY's La La Land, with Ratterman also serving as recording engineer. All songs were written by James, who is backed on the album by bassist Seth Kauffman (Floating Action) and longtime touring drummer Dave Givan, with backing vocals provided throughout by the L.A.-based trio Dear Lemon Trees' Leslie Stevens, Jamie Drake and Kathleen Grace.

"My head feels like it is exploding with the amount of information we are forced to consume on a daily basis, and how that information is so DISTORTED there is almost no longer any tangible truth," said James about the LP. "The name of my new record is Uniform Distortion because I feel like there is this blanket distortion on society/media and the way we gather our ‘news and important information. More and more of us are feeling lost and looking for new ways out of this distortion and back to the truth...and finding hope in places like the desert where I write this now...finding hope in the land and in the water and in old books offering new ideas and most importantly in each other and love."

The cover art is a photo by Duane Michaels titled "The Illuminated Man" that was used in a 1971 version of The Last Whole Earth Catalog. Jim James was originally turned down by Michaels. Head to NPR to read the email Jim wrote to Duane that led to the photographer granting permission.

1. Just A Fool
2. You Get To Rome
3. Out Of Time
4. Throwback
5. No Secrets
6. Yes To Everything
7. No Use Waiting
8. All In Your Head
9. Better Late Than Never
10. Over And Over
11. Too Good To Be True

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it