Porcupine Tree - Deadwing





Product No.:
AKSP 986
UPC: 802644898612
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: Import

180 Gram LP

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Brilliant 2005 release reissued as 180-gram 2LP from Kscope Records

Deadwing was Porcupine Tree's eighth studio album and the second in a run of three releases that for many fans represent the pinnacle of the band's artistic achievements. After the breakthrough of In Absentia, Deadwing continued the band's commercial and critical ascent and was Porcupine Tree's top-selling record at the time.

Based on a screenplay written by Steven Wilson and director Mike Bennion, around half of the songs were started with a view to being part of the score to that film, but when the film failed to move into the production stage, Wilson instead made them the foundation for Deadwing, with additional material written in collaboration with the other band members. The album features the classic singles: "Shallow" and "Lazarus," the latter of which Wilson still performs live with his current band. Other popular songs from the album include "Open Car" and "Arriving Somewhere But Not Here."

The album features guest appearances from Adrian Belew (King Crimson), who plays guitar solos on the title track and Halo, and Mikael Åkerfeldt (Opeth), who adds vocal harmonies and a guitar solo to "Arriving Somewhere But Not Here."

The album has been remastered by Steven Wilson and the 2017 master has features noticeably less compression and limiting in order to provide a more dynamic listening experience.

1. Deadwing
2. Shallow
3. Lazarus
4. Halo
5. Arriving Somewhere But Not Here
6. Mellotron Scratch
7. Open Car
8. Start Of Something Beautiful
9. Glass Arm Shattering
10. So Called Friend
11. Half Light

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it