The Three Sounds - Groovin' Hard-Live At The Penthouse 1964-68

 (Numbered Limited Edition)


Resonance Records



Product No.:
ARES 9025
UPC: 096802280306
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

Deluxe limited edition hand-numbered 180-gram LP!

Never-before-issued album w/ Gene Harris, limited to 1,500 copies!

Recorded live at Seattle's legendary Penthouse Jazz Club! Pressed at RTI

Liner notes essays by journalist Ted Panken, Seattle Radio DJ Jim Wilke and producers Zev Feldman & George Klabin

Previously unreleased recordings of the legendary soulful jazz trio The Three Sounds, led by groove master pianist Gene Harris, captured live at Seattle's The Penthouse from 1964-1968 featuring Andrew Simpkins on bass and Bill Dowdy, Kalil Madi and Carl Burnett on drums. This deluxe limited edition LP features rare photos and memorabilia, plus essays by journalist Ted Panken, Seattle Jazz Radio DJ Jim Wilke and producers Zev Feldman and George Klabin.

This set contains soulful originals such as "Blue Genes," the eloquently swinging "Girl Talk," and standards like "The Shadow Of Your Smile," which was never released on any other Three Sounds album. The group's song "Put On Train" was prominently sampled in the Beastie Boys song "What Comes Around" on the album Paul's Boutique.

The Three Sounds were one of the most popular artists of the 1960s, and you can hear why on these infectiously swinging recordings from the Penthouse.

1. Girl Talk
2. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes
3. Blue Genes
4. The Shadow of Your Smile
5. Rat Down Front
6. Yours Is My Heart Alone
7. A.M. Blues
8. Bluesette
9. Caesar and Cleopatra (film theme)
10. The Boogaloo

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it