Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Doug MacLeod - Break the Chain


Reference Recordings



Product No.:

FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

Also available on:
45 RPM Vinyl Record

Total download size: 1.5 GB Total play length: 48:10
Cover art included, liner notes included

2018 Blues Music Awards Acoustic Album of the Year!

In this release, his third album for Reference Recordings, singer-songwriter Doug MacLeod continues to explore the breadth and depth of the human condition. Recorded by Reference's Grammy-winning engineer 'Prof.' Keith O. Johnson at Skywalker Sound in Marin County, California, Break The Chain brings 12 new MacLeod originals. Each song is extremely personal and at the same time, universal; covering subjects topical, humorous, and soulful; from the satirical to the sublime.

The title work, "Break The Chain," composed and performed with Doug's son Jesse, focuses on breaking the cycle of family violence and abuse. A powerful concern all too many are familiar with, Doug and Jesse confront this pervasive issue directly and personally, bringing it out of the shadows. Together, they share the healing, reconciliation and peace available to all who work to prevent the cycle from repeating and to "Break The Chain."

The album is co-produced by Doug MacLeod and Janice Mancuso. Bassist Denny Croy , drummer Jimi Bott and percussionist Oliver Brown join Doug in duo, trio and quartet settings. Like all ‘Prof.' Johnson's sessions, Break The Chain was recorded live, in realtime, with no overdubs or effects.

A prolific singer, songwriter, engaging storyteller, and masterful guitarist, Doug is a perennial Blues Music Award nominee and multiple Blues Music Award winner including Acoustic Artist Of The Year and Acoustic Album of the Year. An active touring artist, MacLeod supports his beloved St. Louis Cardinals during baseball season and, when at home, enjoys cooking for wife Patti Joy.


1. Goin' Down to the Roadhouse
2. Mr. Bloozeman
3. Lonesome Feeling
4. Travel On
5. LA - The Siren in the West
6. One For Tampa Red
7. What the Blues Means To Me
8. This Road I'm Walking
9. Who's Driving This Bus?
10. Chruch Street Serenade
11. Going Home
12. Break the Chain

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Another Masterpiece!!

posted on 02/01/2018
5 Stars
Reviewer: Longtime Fan
As usual, it lived up to my lofty expectations! Doug paints pictures in your mind like not many can. If you're familiar with his music, you already know every album is going to take you on a new trip. Reference did an outstanding job with the recording as always...Buy it, you won't regret it!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.