Steve Earle - Just An American Boy

 (Remastered + Includes Special Etching)


Warner Bros.



Product No.:
AWAR 562332
UPC: 093624911593
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 3


or Add to Wishlist

Live 3LP set, remastered!

First time on vinyl! - Steve's 2003 live album

Includes "Guitar Town," "Copperhead Road"

Includes special etching

Warner Bros. Records will release remastered versions of six classic Steve Earle albums in September 2017. September 29 mark's the release of Earle's 2003 live set, Just An American Boy. This will mark the first time that Just An American Boy has been released on vinyl.

"Steve Earle subtitled his 2003 live album Just an American Boy an 'Audio Documentary,' which may be a bit more grand than it deserves, though in all fairness an awful lot had happened with Earle in the 12 years since his last live album, Shut Up and Die Like an Aviator (recorded shortly before Earle's drug habit bottomed out both his career and his personal life for several years), and a lot was going on with him at the time this show was recorded. Always free with his opinions, Earle's 2002 album Jerusalem, which was written and recorded in the wake of the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks on America, featured a song about 'American Taliban' John Walker Lindh, and soon Earle was being denounced as a traitor by right-wing commentators faster than you could say 'Dixie Chicks.'

"As Earle himself puts it on this album, recorded on the tour supporting Jerusalem, 'Things have been really f*cking weird down South, and they're gonna get even weirder,' and he uses much of Just an American Boy to spotlight the progressive political slant that has long been a part of his songwriting, ranging from his moving anti-death penalty ballad 'Billy Austin,' the labor anthem 'Harlan Man,' and his call for new people's heroes in 'Christmas in Washington' to a venomous screed against 'compassionate conservatism,' 'Amerika V. 6.0 (The Best We Can Do).' While Earle mounts a soapbox through much of this set, his political views fortunately don't take a back seat to his skill as a songwriter, which remains razor sharp, or his vocals, which are craggy but emphatic on these recordings, with Earle and his band (including Eric 'Roscoe' Ambel and Will Rigby) revving up a potent head of steam throughout." — AllMusic

1. Audience Intro (Live)
2. Amerika v. 6.0 (The Best That We Can Do) [Live]
3. Ashes to Ashes (Live)
4. Paranoia (Monologue) [Live]
5. Conspiracy Theory (Live)
6. I Remember You (Live)
7. Schertz, Texas (Monologue) [Live]
8. Hometown Blues (Live)
9. The Mountain (Live)
10. Pennsylvania Miners (Monologue) [Live]
11. Harlan Man (Live)
12. Copperhead Road (Live)
13. Guitar Town (Live)
14. I Oppose the Death Penalty (Monologue) [Live]
15. Over Yonder (Jonathan's Song) [Live]
16. Billy Austin (Live)
17. Audience Intro #2 (Live)
18. South Nashville Blues (Live)
19. Rex's Blues / Ft. Worth Blues (Live)
20. John Walker's Blues (Live)
21. Jerusalem (Live)
22. The Unrepentant (Live)
23. Christmas in Washington (Live)
24. Democracy (Monologue) [Live]
25. What's So Funny About Peace, Love & Understanding (Live)
26. Time You Waste (Live)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it