Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

The Verve - Urban Hymns

 (6 LP Box Set + Booklet + Download Code)





Product No.:
AVIR 5756244
UPC: 602557562446
Limited Stock

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 6
Note: 180 Gram

Urban Hymns (180-gram 6 LP Box Set + Booklet + Download Code)

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Songs of All Time - "Bittersweet Symphony" - Rated 392/500!

Urban Hymns is the third studio album by English rock band The Verve, released in September, 1997. It earned
unanimous critical praise upon its release, selling more than 10 million copies worldwide, and featuring the singles "Bitter Sweet Symphony," "Lucky Man" and "The Drugs Don't Work." The album has been remastered for its 20th anniversary.

The 180-gram vinyl 6LP Super Deluxe Edition features the remastered album, B-sides, and the previously unreleased Live at Haigh Hall May 24, 1998 concert. Also included is a 20-page photo book.

"The Case: The Verve had a major smash with their dreamy 'Bittersweet Symphony.' Vocalist Richard Ashcroft penned the song's lyrics, but the instrumental backing was partially sampled from a symphonic version of the Rolling Stones' song 'The Last Time,' recorded in 1965 by the Andrew Oldham Orchestra. The band had originally agreed to license a five-note segment of the recording in exchange for 50 percent of the royalties, but former Rolling Stones' manager Allen Klein claimed the Verve voided the agreement by using a larger section than they agreed to use. ABKCO Records, Klein's holding company, filed a plagiarism suit on behalf of himself and 'The Last Time' songwriters Mick Jagger and Keith Richards.

"The Verdict: The Verve forfeited all of the songwriting royalties and publishing rights to ABKCO, and the song credit reverted to Jagger and Richards. "We were told it was going to be a 50/50 split," recalled Verve bassist Simon Jones. 'Then they saw how well the record was doing. They rung up and said we want 100 percent or take it out of the shops, you don't have much choice.'"

• Super Deluxe Edition
• 180-gram vinyl 6LP
• 20-page photo book
• Previously unreleased live material

LP 1 & 2
Remastered album
Side 1
1. Bitter Sweet Symphony
2. Sonnet
3. The Rolling People
Side 2
4. The Drugs Don’t Work
5. Catching the Butterfly
6. Neon Wilderness
Side 3
7. Space and Time
8. Weeping Willow
9. Lucky Man
10. One Day
Side 4
11. This Time
12. Velvet Morning
13. Come On

LP 3 & 4
B-sides, session tracks issued in 2004*
Side 5
1. Lord I Guess I’ll Never Know
2. Country Song
3. Bitter Sweet Symphony (James Lavelle Remix)
4. So Sister
Side 6
5. Echo Bass
6. Three Steps
7. The Crab
8. Stamped
Side 7
9. The Drugs Don’t Work – original demo
10. Never Wanna See You Cry
11. (Bitter Sweet Symphony) MSG
12. The Longest Day
Side 8
13. Lucky Man (Happiness More or Less)
14. Bitter Sweet Symphony (extended version)
15. This Could Be My Moment*
16. Monte Carlo*

LP 5 & 6
Side 9
1. This Is Music
2. Space and Time
3. Catching the Butterfly
4. Sonnet
Side 10
5. The Rolling People
6. Neon Wilderness
7. Weeping Willow
8. The Drugs Don’t Work
9. Lucky Man
Side 11
10. Life’s an Ocean
11. Velvet Morning
12. Bitter Sweet Symphony
Side 12
13. One Day
14. History
15. Come On

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it