Frederica von Stade - Dominick Argento: Casa Guidi/ Frederica von Stade, mezzo-soprano/ Eiji Oue/ Minnesota Orchestra


Reference Recordings



Product No.:
CREF 100
UPC: 030911001001
Limited Stock


Original Price: $16.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

2004 Grammy Award in the category of Best Classical Contemporary Composition
This magical CD brings together world premier recordings of three works by one of America’s outstanding living composers, Dominick Argento and features the magnificent singing of mezzo-soprano Frederica von Stade. Casa Guidi is a set of five songs with orchestra based on letters of poet Elizabeth Barrett Browning. Argento’s Capriccio for Clarinet (Rossini In Paris) is a delightful tribute to the spirit and melodic brilliance of the great 19th century composer of The Barber of Seville. In Praise of Music: Seven Songs For Orchestra is a brilliant symphonic tribute to the glory of music itself, drawing inspiration from the spirit of music expressed by many cultures over the centuries. Pulitzer Prize winning Dominick Argento is the composer Laureate of the Minnesota Orchestra and under the direction of Eiji Oue, that orchestra plays with passion, panache and tremendous sensitivity to this beautiful music.

Casa Guidi: Five Songs for Mezzo-soprano and Orchestra:
Letters of Elizabeth Barrett Browning to Her Sister
1. Casa Guidi
2. The Italian Cook and the English Maid
3. Robert Browning
4. The Death of Mr. Barrett
5. Domesticity

Capriccio for Clarinet and Orchestra (Rossini in Paris)
6. Une RŽjouissance
7. Une Caresse ˆ ma femme
8. Un petit Train du plaisir

In Praise of Music: Seven Songs for Orchestra
9. For the healer, DAVID
10. For the god, APOLLO
11. For the satyr, PAN
12. For the sorrower, ORPHEUS
13. For the angel, ISRAFEL
14. For the saint, CECILIA
15. For the child, MOZART

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it