Cream - Fresh Cream

 (Limited Deluxe Edition 6 LP + Book + Download Code)





Product No.:
APLD 5722669
UPC: 602557226690
In Stock

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 6
Note: 180 Gram

Cream 50th Anniversary Fresh Cream limited edition box set

Set of six 180-gram black LPs housed in rigid slipcase

64-page LP-sized book

New liner notes from highly respected Rolling Stone writer David Fricke

Fresh Cream is the first album by Cream, released in 1966. Recorded at the height of the U.K. blues boom, Fresh Cream covers the kind of territory you might expect from three of the most respected players on the scene at the time. With Eric Clapton fresh just from his time with John Mayall, Ginger Baker leaving behind the R&B backwaters of Graham Bond Organisation, and a woefully under-employed Jack Bruce hightailing it from the increasingly pop-leaning Manfred Mann, the electric blues was their natural turf.

Highlights include the racing harmonica work-out, and the call and response excitements on Muddy Waters' "Rollin' and Tumblin'," a spine-tingled vocal on the Willie Dixon classic, "Spoonful," as well as the self-penned "Sleepy Time Time" that gives Clapton a free hand to wake up all and sundry. The traditional standard, "Cat's Squirrel" is given a rousing treatment, showing how well these players meshed.

"Fresh Cream represents so many different firsts, it's difficult to keep count. Cream, of course, was the first supergroup, but their first album not only gave birth to the power trio, it also was instrumental in the birth of heavy metal and the birth of jam rock...Fresh Cream was a remarkable shift forward in rock upon its 1966 release and it remains quite potent." — AllMusic

LP 1: Fresh Cream Mono Album (Reaction 593001):
Side A
1. N.S.U. Mono Mix
2. Sleepy Time Time Mono Mix
3. Dreaming Mono Mix
4. Sweet Wine Mono Mix
5. Spoonful Mono Mix
Side B
1. Cat’s Squirrel Mono Mix
2. Four Until Late Mono Mix
3. Rollin’ And Tumblin’ Mono Mix
4. I’m So Glad Mono Mix
5. Toad Mono Mix
LP 2: Session Recording - Mono Mix, The Mono Singles And The Mono French Eps:
Side A
1. The Coffee Song Mono Mix
2. Wrapping Paper First Uk Single A-Side
3. Cat’s Squirrel First Uk Single B-Side
4. I Feel Free Second Uk Single A-Side
5. N.S.U. Second Uk Single B-Side
6. Spoonful Part I Third Us Single A-Side
7. Spoonful Part Ii Third Us Single B-Side
Side B
1. Wrapping Paper Alternate Mix
2. Sweet Wine Alternate Mix
3. I’m So Glad
4. Cat’s Squirrel Alternate Master
5. I Feel Free Alternate Mix
6. Rollin’ And Tumblin’ Alternate Master
7. N.S.U.
8. Four Until Late
LP 3: Fresh Cream Stereo Album:
Side A
1. N.S.U.
2. Sleepy Time Time
3. Dreaming
4. Sweet Wine
5. Spoonful
Side B
1. Cat’s Squirrel
2. Four Until Late
3. Rollin’ And Tumblin’
4. I’m So Glad
5. Toad
LP 4: Session Recordings - Stereo Mixes And New Stereo Mixes:
Side A
1. I Feel Free
2. Wrapping Paper
3. The Coffee Song
4. I'm So Glad (New Stereo Mix)
5. N.S.U. (New Stereo Mix)
Side B
1. Wrapping Paper (New Stereo Mix)
2. The Coffee Song (New Stereo Mix)
3. Rollin' And Tumblin’ (First Version - New Stereo Mix)
4. Spoonful (First Version - New Stereo Mix)
5. Toad (New Stereo Mix)
LP 5: Fresh Cream Early Versions, Outtakes And Alternate Mixes:
Side A
1. Coffee Song Early Version
2. Beauty Queen Demo Version
3. You Make Me Feel Demo Version
4. Wrapping Paper Early Version
5. Cat’s Squirrel Early Version
Side B
1. I Feel Free Early Version
2. I Feel Free Mix With No Lead Vocal
3. I Feel Free Alternate Mono Mix
4. Sweet Wine Early Version
5. Rollin’ And Tumblin’ Early Version
6. Toad Early Version
LP 6: The Bbc Sessions (November 1966 – January 1967):
Side A
BBC Light Programme “Saturday Club” Session. Recorded 8th November 1966:
1. Sweet Wine
2 Eric Clapton Interview
3. Wrapping Paper
4. Rollin’ And Tumblin’
5. Sleepy Time Time Previously Unreleased
6. Steppin’ Out
BBC Home Service “Guitar Club” Session. Recorded 28th November 1966:
7. Crossroads
8. Steppin’ Out Previously Unreleased
Side B
BBC World Service "R & B Club" Session. Recorded 9th December 1966:
1. Cat’s Squirrel
2. Traintime
3. I’m So Glad
4. Lawdy Mama
BBC Light Programme “Saturday Club” Session. Recorded 10th January 1967:
5. Eric Clapton Interview
6. I Feel Free
7. N.S.U.
8. Four Until Late

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it