The Afghan Whigs - Black Love

 (20th Anniversary Expanded Edition)





Product No.:
AELE 557151
UPC: 081227942892
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 3

180 Gram LP

20th Anniversary Expanded Edition

180-gram 3LP triple gatefold set

Newly remastered and featuring nine previously unreleased demos

20th Anniversary reissue of the Afghan Whigs' fifth album, Black Love. This is the original album plus demos, B-sides and rarities.

Where some artists write from the head and others from the heart, Whigs' songwriter/frontman Greg Dulli writes from the groin. Filled with dark images of romantic obsession, Black Love is more like a movie than an album with each musical image building on the next. Perhaps no other band can play with such restraint, letting musical tension build until it can do nothing other than explode.

Dulli is in his finest voice, moving from desperate screams to a quiet sinister crooning at the turn of a chord. Guitarist Rick McCollum plays everything from '70s funk to '90s grunge without missing a beat, and the rhythm section of John Curley (bass) and Paul Buchignani (drums) is as tight as they come. If '93's Gentlemen left any doubt about the true talent of the Whigs, Black Love puts it to rest.

Side 1
01 Crime Scene Part One (Remastered)
02 My Enemy (Remastered)
03 Double Day (Remastered)

Side 2
01 Blame, Etc. (Remastered)
02 Step Into The Light (Remastered)
03 Going To Town (Remastered)

Side 3
01 Honky's Ladder (Remastered)
02 Night By Candlelight (Remastered)
03 Bulletproof (Remastered)

Side 4
01 Summer's Kiss (Remastered)
02 Faded (Remastered)

Side 5
01 Go To Town (Acoustic Version/Mix)
02 Leaving Town Mix 1.0
03 Faded - Demo
04 Regret
05 Crime Scene Part II Mix 1.1 (with Scratch Vocals)

Side 6
01 Mick Taylor Jam
02 Wynton Kelly Jam
03 I Often Think of You
04 Staring Across The Water

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it