Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Philip Glass and Kronos Quartet - Dracula

 (Limited Edition Score)


Orange Mountain Music



Product No.:
AOMM 8002
UPC: 801837800227

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP

Phillip Glass' iconic motion picture score

For the first time on 180-gram gatefold double LP

Orange Mountain is pleased to announce for the first time on vinyl Philip Glass's 1998 score to the 1931 film "Dracula" starring Bela Lugosi. For his new score, Philip Glass tapped the all-star Kronos Quartet and wrote specifically for them. In the late-1990s Universal Pictures approached composer Philip Glass to compose a new score for one of it's classic monster movies. Glass chose to compose a score for Tod Browning's 1931 "Dracula" because it never had an original score.

He composed the work for string quartet to evoke an ancient sound and now almost 20 years later Glass and Kronos continue to perform the music live to film around the world. In the end Glass's music gave the film new life, perhaps adding something that had been missing before there was music: structure and pacing and above all a new sense of mystery and soul. The Dracula album was originally available on Nonesuch in the late-1990s. This is the first time Dracula is available on vinyl.

1. Dracula
2. Journey to the Inn
3. The Inn
4. The Crypt
5. Carriage without a Driver
6. The Castle
7. The Drawing Room
8. 'Excellent, Mr Renfield'

1. The Three Consorts of Dracula
2. The Storm
3. Horrible Tragedy
4. London Fog
5. In the Theatre
6. Lucy's Bitten
7. Seward Sanatorium
8. Renfield

1. In His Cell
2. When the Dream Comes
3. Dracula Enters
4. Or a Wolf
5. Women in White

1. Renfield in the Drawing Room
2. Dr. Van Helsing and Dracula
3. Mina on the Terrace
4. Mina's Bedroom/The Abbey
5. The End of Dracula

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it