Wilco - Schmilco

 (+ Download Code)





Product No.:
AANT 87259
UPC: 045778725915
Back Ordered

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Wilco Schmilco, their 10th studio album!

Twelve new songs

180-gram vinyl plated and pressed by Quality Record Pressings!

Gatefold jacket with artwork by noted Spanish illustrator Joan Cornellà

When Wilco surprise-dropped last year's Star Wars album, the band revealed it already had another full-length ready to go. That album is called Schmilco, their 10th studio effort. Featuring 12 new songs written by Jeff Tweedy, it's the band's third release on their own dBpm Records.

Mostly an acoustic collection, Schmilco bears neither the vicious, fuzz-glam guitars of Star Wars, nor the dazzling, baroque-ish arrangements that fans have come to expect from Wilco. But in their place is a spaciousness and chaos that might feel welcome after 20-some years of enjoyed but now-familiar Wilco releases. It is an intentionally loose affair.

Schmilco finds band leader Tweedy in a state of alienation: how to cope with dissonance between self-identity and the public perception of his band — to maintain an innocence and earnestness even as some have come to see him as more (or less) than human, and Wilco as something other than six musicians?

Plated and pressed on 180-gram super silent audiophile vinyl by none other than Quality Record Pressings. Gatefold jacket with artwork by noted Spanish cartoonist and illustrator Joan Cornellà.


1. Normal American Kids
2. If I Ever Was A Child
3. Cry All Day
4. Common Sense
5. Nope
6. Someone To Lose
7. Happiness
8. Quarters
9. Locator
10. Shrug And Destroy
11. We Aren’t The World (Safety Girl)
12. Just Say Goodbye

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

10/10/10 For Music/Sonics/Pressing

posted on 09/08/2016
5 Stars
Reviewer: audiofan
This basically sounds like Wico "Unplugged" live in your living room. Produced by Jeff Tweedy and Tom Schick (who also engineered), and mastered by the legendary Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering, this gorgeous-sounding LP is warm, involving, and organic - and easily rates as one of the best-recorded/sounding LPs in my collection. As usual, QRP's vinyl pressing is flat and dead-quiet, with totally black backgrounds...this is demo-disc territory! I find the musical content beautiful & superbly written and played by the band; of course, that's all subjective. What isn't subjective is the stunning, lifelike, immersive mix and soundfield contained in these grooves. This is an all-out fantastic record! Bravo!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.