Miroslav Vitous - Music Of Weather Report





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 1.10GB Total play length: 52:47

Cover art and liner notes included

Miroslav Vitous: double bass, keyboards; Gary Campbell: soprano and tenor saxophone; Roberto Bonisolo: soprano and tenor saxophone; Aydin Esen: keyboards
Gerald Cleaver: drums; Nasheet Waits: drums

The great Czech bassist returns once more to the music of Weather Report, the group he co-founded with Joe Zawinul and Wayne Shorter in 1970.

Its the improvisational freedom of the early Weather Report that most interests Vitous, and he abides by their old rallying call everyone solos and no one solos.

Well-known Report repertoire re-explored includes Birdland, Seventh Arrow, Scarlet Woman, Pinocchio and Morning Lake and Miroslavs group also plays Jugglers Issue a piece which the first Weather Report line-up played but didnt record.

Interspersed along the way are three new blues tunes from Vitouss pen. The band, driven by the astounding double drumming of Gerald Cleaver and Nasheet Waits, is energetic and daring, juxtaposing fast tempos and rhythmically free pulses, with Miroslavs arco bass playing sometimes sounding like a third horn in between the two saxophones.

Scarlet Woman Variations
Seventh Arrow
Multi Dimension Blues 2
Birdland Variations
Multi Dimension Blues 1
Acrobat Issues
Scarlet Reflections
Multi Dimension Blues 3
Morning Lake

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it