Nels Cline - Lovers


Blue Note



Product No.:
ABLU 99408
UPC: 602547899408
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP  

or Add to Wishlist

The Blue Note label debut by the renowned Wilco guitarist

18-track double album features "mood music" — sensual, atmospheric sound

Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Cline named one of Rolling Stone's "100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time"

Lovers is an expansive double-album that Nels Cline has dreamed of making for more than 25 years. Inspired by the likes of Bill Evans, Jim Hall, Gil Evans, Johnny Mandel, Henry Mancini and others, Cline finally realized his ambitious mood music project with an ensemble of 23 stellar musicians conducted and arranged by Michael Leonhart.

Lovers was produced by David Breskin and recorded and mixed by Ron Saint Germain. The material on Lovers is wide-ranging; the album's 18 tracks include Cline's striking originals as well as Great American Songbook standards and songs by Sonic Youth, Arto Lindsay, Jimmy Giuffre and others. The 2LP set was plated and pressed by Quality Record Pressings, maker of the world's finest-sounding LPs.

Cline was named by Rolling Stone as one of the 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time. He has led various groups of his own, most consistently the avant-garde ensemble the Nels Cline Singers, and appeared as a guest or feature player on more than 200 albums. In addition, for the last dozen years, he's been a full-time member of the acclaimed rock band Wilco.

1. Introduction / Diaphanous 4:23
music by Nels Cline
2. Glad To Be Unhappy 4:07
music by Richard Rodgers / lyrics by Lorenz Hart
3. Beautiful Love 3:58
music by Wayne King, Victor Young & Egbert Van Alstyne / lyrics by Haven Gillespie
4. Hairpin & Hatbox 3:32
music by Nels Cline
5. Cry, Want 6:53
music by Jimmy Giuffre

Side Two
1. Lady Gabor 8:26
music by Gabor Szabo
2. The Bed We Made 3:25
music by Nels Cline
3. You Noticed 4:01
music by Nels Cline
4. Secret Love 4:30
music by Sammy Fain / lyrics by Paul Francis Webster
5. I Have Dreamed 2:39
music by Richard Rodgers / lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II

Side Three
1. Why Was I Born? 5:04
Music by Jerome Kern / lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II
2. Invitation 2:26
music by Bronislaw Kaper / lyrics by Paul Francis Webster
3. It Only Has To Happen Once 5:45
music and lyrics by Arto Lindsay & Peter Scherer
4. The Night Porter / Max, Mon Amour 8:13
music by Daniele Paris (The Night Porter) / music by Michel Portal (Max, Mon Amour)

Side Four
1. Snare, Girl 6:35
music & lyrics by Sonic Youth
2. So Hard It Hurts / Touching 6:53
music by Annette Peacock
3. The Search For Cat 2:33
music by Henry Mancini
4. The Bond 5:48
music by Nels Cline

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it