Product No.:
ALEG 30811
UPC: 889853030811
In Stock

140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record

Note: 150 Gram


or Add to Wishlist

150-gram black vinyl

Remastered from the original 2-track master tapes

All-analog mastering by Bernie Grundman

The classic original album and poster, with alternate original cover artwork

Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Painstakingly restored to its original 1969 format, Smash Hits includes timeless Hendrix classics such as "Purple Haze," "Hey Joe," "Red House," "Fire," plus eight more hit songs and features a recreation of the poster included in the original LP release with Jimi, Mitch, and Noel dressed as cowboys from the Warner Brothers' film studios in early 1969.

Carefully restored from the original analog master tapes, remastered by Bernie Grundman, and featuring original poster and alternate cover art, the Legacy 2016 edition of the Jimi Hendrix Experience's Smash Hits (created in conjunction with Experience Hendrix L.L.C.) includes timeless classics such as "Purple Haze," "Hey Joe," "Red House" (a different take from the UK Are You Experienced version), "Fire" plus 8 more essential Hendrix tracks. First released in 1969, Smash Hits has proved to be immensely popular, serving as a critical introduction to the Hendrix canon for successive generations of fans.

This Legacy 2016 edition of Smash Hits includes a recreation of the poster that came with the original U.S. LP release, depicting band members Jimi Hendrix, Mitch Mitchell and Noel Redding dressed in western attire on horseback. The photograph, taken by Grammy-winning photographer Ed Thrasher (Grateful Dead, Neil Young, the Beach Boys) at Warner Bros. film studios in Burbank, Calif. in early 1969, was conceived as sleeve art for the album. Now, for the first time ever, Thrasher's photo finally graces the cover of Smash Hits, as originally intended.

150 gram 12″ vinyl edition of Smash Hits, plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

Side 1
1. Purple Haze
2. Fire
3. The Wind Cries Mary
4. Can You See Me
5. Hey Joe
6. All Along the Watchtower

Side 2
1. Stone Free
2. Crosstown Traffic
3. Manic Depression
4. Remember
5. Red House
6. Foxey Lady

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it