Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

John Mellencamp - The Vinyl Collection 1982-1989





Product No.:
AMER 43197
UPC: 602547843197
In Stock

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 5
Note: 180 Gram


or Add to Wishlist

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member and Grammy-winning singer-songwriter

Hit-making collection celebrates albums from 1982-1989

180-gram LPs, all albums cut from the original analog tapes

Multi-platinum-selling and Grammy-winning singer-songwriter John (Cougar) Mellencamp is known for his heartland rock style in the vein of Springsteen, Tom Petty and Bob Seger. In the U.S., he's amassed 22 Top 40 hits in a musical career spanning more than 35 years.

Five classic John Mellencamp albums are gathered here in a limited edition 5LP vinyl box set, The Viny Collection 1982-1989 from Mercury/Universal Music Enterprises.

New lacquers for American Fool, Uh-Huh, Scarecrow, The Lonesome Jubilee, and Big Daddy were cut from their original analog master tapes by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering, with the vinyl LPs manufactured by Record Industry.

Released in 1982, John Mellencamp's fifth album, American Fool, hit No. 1 on the Billboard 200 albums chart. Fueled by the Billboard Hot 100 chart-topper "Jack & Diane," the Grammy-winning No. 2 single "Hurts So Good," and the Top 20 "Hand To Hold On To," American Fool was the year's bestselling album in the U.S. and is certified five-times platinum.

Released in 1983, Uh-Huh reached No. 9 on the Billboard 200 and spawned two Top 10 Billboard Hot 100 hits: "Crumbling Down" (No. 2) and "Pink Houses" (No. 8), and the Top 20 "Authority Song." Uh-Huh is certified triple-platinum in the U.S.

Scarecrow followed in 1985. The five-times platinum album peaked at No. 2 on the Billboard 200 and boasts three Billboard Hot 100 Top 10s: "R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A." (No. 2), "Small Town" (No. 6), and "Lonely Ol' Night" (No. 6).

Released in 1987, The Lonesome Jubilee reached No. 6 on the Billboard 200 and features the Billboard Hot 100 Top 10s "Cherry Bomb" and "Paper In Fire." The album is certified triple-platinum in the U.S.

Released in 1989, Big Daddy peaked at No. 7 on the Billboard 200 and features two Mainstream Rock Top 10s: "Pop Singer" and "Martha Say." Big Daddy is certified platinum in the U.S.


American Fool
Side A:
1. Hurts So Good
2. Jack & Diane
3. Hand To Hold On To
4. Danger List
5. Can You Take It
Side B:
6. Thundering Hearts
7. China Girl
8. Close Enough
9. Weakest Moments

Side A:
1. Crumblin' Down
2. Pink Houses
3. Authority Song
4. Warmer Place To Sleep
Side B:
5. Jackie O
6. Play Guitar
7. Serious Business
8. Lovin' Mother Fo Ya
9. Golden Gates

Side A:
1. Rain On The Scarecrow
2. Grandma's Theme
3. Small Town
4. Minutes To Memories
5. Lonely Ol' Night
6. The Face Of The Nation
Side B:
7. Justice And Independence '85
8. Between A Laugh And A Tear
9. Rumbleseat
10. You've Got To Stand For Somethin'
11. R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A.

The Lonesome Jubilee
Side A:
1. Paper in Fire
2. Down and Out in Paradise
3. Check It Out
4. The Real Life
5. Cherry Bomb
Side B:
6. We Are the People
7. Empty Hands
8. Hard Times for an Honest Man
9. Hotdogs and Hamburgers
10. Rooty Toot Toot

Big Daddy
Side A:
1. Big Daddy Of Them All
2. To Live
3. Martha Say
4. Theo And Weird Henry
5. Jackie Brown
Side B:
6. Pop Singer
7. Void In My Heart
8. Mansions In Heaven
9. Sometimes A Great Notion
10. Country Gentleman
11. J.M.'s Question

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it