Laura Nyro - Eli And The Thirteenth Confession


Audio Fidelity



Product No.:
UPC: 780014223724

Hybrid Multichannel SACD

Hybrid Multichannel SACD
Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Numbered, limited edition

Hybrid Multichannel SACD includes new 4.0 mix and original stereo mixes!

Just shy of 21, Laura Nyro — drawing on the many-splendored influences of pop, rock, R&B, jazz, gospel and even Broadway — created a masterpiece that sealed her place in the pantheon of songwriting greats. Laura's soulful and personal interpretations remain indelible and definitive.

With a youthful spirit, a wisdom far belying her years, and a passion and persuasion that are timeless, Nyro delivers an inspiring confessional for the ages on this landmark recording. Included are the classics "Eli's Comin'," "Stoned Soul Picnic," "Sweet Blindness," "Lu" and "Lucky."

1. Luckie
2. Lu
3. Sweet Blindness
4. Poverty Train
5. Lonely Women
6. Eli’s Comin’
7. Timer
8. Stoned Soul Picnic
9. Emmie
10. Woman’s Blues
11. Once It Was Alright Now (Farmer Joe)
12. December’s Boudoir
13. The Confession

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 2 person(s) rated this product.

Absolutely Stunning Remaster

posted on 06/25/2016
5 Stars
Absolutely STUNNING. Sitting here listening for round 2 of this release in amazing QUAD surround. It's like hearing it all over again for the first time. Yeah, I am biased. I got this album upon it's initial release and I was a senior in high school. I still remember thinking - WOW - this woman is amazing. Nothing like I had ever heard. Sure I was aware of her writings thanks to the releases by Fifth Dimension and Three Dog Night. But to hear her sing - she had such power and passion! And her arrangement of Eli and the Thirteenth Confession blew Three Dogs Night right out the window. Raw emotions right there on vinyl for me to hear. When I saw this was going to be released in QUAD I immediately pre-ordered it. It is friggin' stellar. Great separation between Laura's vocals and the instruments on the multi channels. Overall, a balanced recording with Laura's voice front and center. And the instruments complement her vocals as opposed to competing for prominence.

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.