Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

L'arte del mondo - Johannes Matthias Sperger: Symphonies


Deutsche Harmonia Mundi



Product No.:

FLAC 48kHz/24Bit Download

FLAC 48kHz/24Bit Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 631MB Total play length: 1:02:25

Cover art and liner notes included

Johannes Matthias Sperger was born in Feldsberg in 1750 and trained in Vienna as a contrabassist and composer from 1767. He worked from 1777 in the Hofkapelle of the Archbishop of Pressburg. From 1778 he was also a member in the Wiener Tonkünstlersozietät, in whose concerts he appeared several times with his own works and as soloist. From 1783 to 1786, Sperger was a member of the Hofkapelle of count Ludwig von Erdödy in Kohfidisch. From 1789 he was employed as first contrabassist of the Mecklenburg Schwerin Hofkapelle in Ludwigslust.

He was an extremely productive composer who wrote more than forty-four symphonies, numerous instrumental concertos, among them eighteen contrabass concertos, sonatas, rondos and dances, cantatas, choral works, and airs. He died in Schwerin, aged 62.

The orchestra l’arte del mondo, which was founded by artistic director Werner Ehrhardt in 2004, stands in the tradition of historical performance practice. This is the origin of the orchestra which also presents outstanding performances on modern instruments and with repertoire up to 20th century composers.

The orchestra’s creation was soon followed by invitations to perform in renowned festivals and concert series – such as the Ludwigsburg Schlossfestspiele, Bonn’s Beethoven festival, Rheingau Musikfestival, Musikfestspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, the Konzerthaus in Berlin, and the Cité de la musique in Paris – and to collaborate with the West German Broadcasting Company (WDR) and Deutschlandfunk.

I. Allegro con spirito
II. Andante arioso
III. Menuetto - Trio
IV. Finale. Allegro
I. Vivace
II. Andante
III. Menuetto. Majestoso - Allegro moderato
Finale. Allegro moderato
I. Marche. Allegro e con spirito
II. Andantino
III. Menuetto. Allegretto
IV. Finale. Allegro

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it