Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Patricia Barber - Cafe Blue





Female Vocalists

Product No.:
CPRM 90760 SA
UPC: 669179076058

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD

"The one thing that struck me the most about Premonition Records' latest release of an 'Un-Mastered' edition of the Patricia Barber jazz standard, Cafe Blue, was the audibly more reverberating recording studio ambience. ... After an ensuing decade of numerous reissues and LP pressings, Premonition Records hired Gus Skinas, Director of the Super Audio Center, a mastering and disc manufacturing facility of the SACD format, in a restoration of the Cafe Blue to the original studio mix prior to its commercial one. The result was a much quieter recording busting with dynamic contrasts. ... The Cafe Blue Un-Mastered is now the reference." — Read the entire review here.

"Unlike any other version thus far released. You feel the character of Capitol's vintage Neve console and you hear all the detail and feel and space of those famous analog reverb chambers." — Gus Skinas, The Super Audio Center / This recording authored for Hybrid SACD by Gus Skinas at the Super Audio Center, Boulder, Colo.

Patricia Barber's 1994 audiophile classic Cafe Blue is available for the first time unmastered, Capitol Studios remix. SACD Hybrid will play on all SACD and CD players.

Cafe Blue was recorded at Chicago Recording Company in early 1994 by recording engineer Jim Anderson. It was the first release Barber recorded for Premonition Records. Recorded in 16/48 kHz on a 32-track Otari machine, the original multitracks were then transferred and remixed in 2011 at Capitol Studios in Holywood, California. 

Cafe Blue itself is so special that it outshines its peers. This recording of an outstanding female vocalist won more than 15 awards of best reviews from international major magazines of music institutions. But the most important aspect of this disc crystallizes in the two songs for which Barber herself has written the lyrics. The down-and-out sophistication of "What A Shame" and the self-effacing wonderment of "Too Rich For My Blood," show a serious jazz musician exploring the emotional domain normally occupied by pop and rock artists.


1. What A Shame
2. Mourning Grace
3. The Thrill Is Gone
4. Romanesque
5. Yellow Car III
6. Wood Is A Pleasant Thing To Think About
7. Inch Worm
8. Ode To Billy Joe
9. Too Rich For My Blood
10. A Taste Of Honey
11. Nardis
12. Manha de Carnaval