David Elias - Crossing


Sketti Sandwich Productions


Folk Rock

Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 176kHz/24bit Download

Total download size: 2.60GB Total play length: 50:27

Cover art and liner notes included

Recorded direct to DSD by Gus Skinas

The debut SACD by David Elias, titled The Window, has become a surprise hit in the Acoustic Sounds catalog. Surprise, that is, because it was an independent release by an independent artist on an independent label. There was no major label promotion machine in effect here. But word spread quickly, grass-roots style, that this was a disc of serious sonic and musical merit.

And now we've got Elias' follow-up to tout. Crossing was recorded almost entirely "live" in the studio, with few, if any, edits. There was minimal micing and the musicians were seated in a circle to capture the ambient characteristics of the room. Like The Window, Crossing was recorded directly to DSD using a Sonoma eight-track recorder from Super Audio Center. This is subtle acoustic music recorded with exceptional detail paid to high fidelity.

“In addition, I award David Elias a 2005 Brutus Award for the brilliant work that he’s done with DSD in 2003 and 2005 on his exceptional recordings, The Window and The Crossing. If you haven’t treated yourself to these two exceptional recordings, you’re missing what DSD can do with well recorded sources. Not only that, but David writes terrific music!…Gus Skinas of the Super Audio Center is given a 2005 Brutus for the superlative engineering that he has done in DSD on a number of projects. Gus combines remarkable production values with a clear sense of the importance of DSD as a format. Gus deserves recognition as an audio engineer who really gets it – congratulations, Gus!” – David W. Robinson, Positive Feedback Online, Issue 22

David Elias ~ Acoustic Guitar, Vocal and Harmonica
Sally Van Meter ~ Weissenborn Guitar: #1, 2, 5, 9; Dobro: 3,7
Matt Flinner ~ Mandolin: #1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
Eric Thorin ~ Upright Bass: #1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10
Eric Moon ~ Keyboards: #7; Accordion: #10
Marc Dalio ~ Drums: #1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10
Chris Kee ~ Upright Bass: #4, 8, 11, 12
David Phillips ~ Pedal Steel: #4, 12
John Havard ~ Electric Guitar: #4
Peter Tucker ~ Drums: #4, 12
Reid Dennis ~ Percussion: #6
Erin Humphrey ~ Organ: #9

1. Crossing (Lonely Bells)
2. Mend My Mind
3. Close My Eyes
4. Morning Light / Western Town
5. Rodeo On A Ridge
6. Red Tail Guide
7. Heaven's Destiny
8. One More Savior
9. Above The Creek
10. The Riddle Song
11. Changing Down
12. If I Had My Way

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it