Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Various Artists - Not The Same Old Blues Crap 2

 (+ Download Code)


Fat Possum



Product No.:
AFAT 803421
UPC: 045778034215
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Includes liner notes by Chris Morris. It worked the first time around, so why not a second offering of Not the Same Old Blues Crap? For Volume Two, Fat Possum has patched together another riveting collection of hypnotic boogies, wailing guitars, and Mississippi moans — but lo and behold, there's also a tender side to this album that may surprise both fans and critics of the label. While listeners can still expect to find plenty of electric juke-joint swagger courtesy of R.L. Burnside, Paul "Wine" Jones, and T-Model Ford, a good half of the songs here are statements of subtlety, with Scott Dunbar's falsetto-laden "Easy Rider" (reissued from his 1972 Ahura Mazda LP From Lake Mary) and King Ernest's soul ballad rendering of Tom Waits' "House Where Nobody Lives" leading the way.

Fat Possum puts a fat spotlight on its deep lineup of solo performers — Robert Belfour, Asie Payton, Junior Kimbrough, Dunbar, and Burnside all take relaxed turns inhabiting the role of the lone bluesman, who has perhaps never sounded so alive since the prewar era. But the jewel of this compilation is actually a duet shared by Kimbrough and rockabilly guitarist Charlie Feathers: the lighthearted "I Feel Good Again," which was originally cut in 1969. It's an uncharacteristic but charming blues that marries Feathers' precise, flat-picked strumming with Kimbrough's loping vocals and lead guitar runs. There's absolutely nothing like it — just like Fat Possum, of course.

Side 1
1. Easy Rider – Scott Dunbar
2. Goin’ Down South – R.L. Burnside
3. Walkin’ Blues – R.L. Burnside
4. I Feel Good Again – Junior Kimbrough & Charlie Feathers
5. Meet In The City – Junior Kimbrough

Side 2
6. Black Mattie – Robert Belfour
7. Goin’ Back To The Bridge – Asie Payton
8. Please Tell Me You Love Me – Asie Payton
9. Goin’ Back Home – Paul Jones
10. I’m Gonna Leave – Paul Jones
11. Sail On – T-Model Ford
12. El Camino – Super Chikan

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it