Product No.:
CVEN 0100 SA
EAN: 4571292517416
In Stock

Single Layer Stereo SACD

Single Layer Stereo SACD

or Add to Wishlist

"Ken Peplowski has long shown interest in a number of different jazz styles, but this album is his first strictly Gypsy swing session. Recruiting two of the most versatile guitarists for the date, Bucky Pizzarelli and Howard Alden, veterans Frank Tate on bass and Chuck Redd on drums, and the promising young violinist Aaron Weinstein (on selected tracks), Peplowski alternates between tenor sax and clarinet, covering a set list that is mostly drawn from the Quintet of the Hot Club of France and postwar Django Reinhardt records.

"The reed player showcases both instruments in his delightful take of 'Please,' overlapping them in spots via overdubbing. Peplowski takes a back seat to the two guitarists in 'Nuages,' with Pizzarelli taking the opening solo (easily identified by anyone who has heard him play this standard in person) and Alden following the leader's feature. Weinstein takes part in the chugging 'Minor Swing,' sounding very mature for his tender years. 'Anouman' is one of Reinhardt's gems from near the end of his life; surprisingly, it is infrequently performed. Peplowski's lyrical, spacious clarinet is a highlight of this moving rendition. This enjoyable tribute to Django Reinhardt merits a follow-up CD. One minor beef: unless one can read the Japanese-only liner notes, it is nearly impossible to tell which guitarist is soloing on several selections; presumably the duties are shared. " —


• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Ken Peplowski, tenor sax & clarinet
Bucky Pizzarelli, guitar
Howard Alden, guitar
Arron Weinstein, violin
Frank Tate, bass
Chuck Redd, drums

1. Topsy
2. Anouman
3. Crepuscule
4. Tears
5. I’m Confessin’
6. Minor Swing
7. Solitude
8. Nympheus
9. Please
10. Nuages
11. I’ve Had My Moments
12. Time On My Hands

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it