Joe Satriani - Shockwave Supernova





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Vinyl Record

Total download size: 1.30GB Total play length: 1:03:28

Cover art included, liner notes not included

Recently, during the final performance of his two-year Unstoppable Momentum tour, Joe Satriani had an epiphany; he found himself, "playing the guitar with my teeth an awful lot. I thought, 'Why are you doing this?' It's as if something else, or somebody else, was driving me to do it." Satriani seized upon this moment of self-realization as the springboard and creative center for his alter ego "Shockwave Supernova," the outlandish and extroverted 'performance side' of the normally shy and reserved guitar virtuoso. With this new persona as partner, Satriani launched his wildly ambitious 15th solo album, Shockwave Supernova.

Recorded late last year at Skywalker Sound in Lucas Valley, CA, Satriani assembled the dynamic trio of world-class musicians who had recently been part of his global tour; renowned keyboardist and guitarist Mike Keneally, a veteran of several Satch outings and recordings; along with drumming whiz Marco Minnemann and bass extraordinaire Bryan Beller. "I couldn't have asked for a better band to help bring these songs to life," says Satriani.

1. Shockwave Supernova
2. Lost in a Memory
3. Crazy Joey
4. In My Pocket
5. On Peregrine Wings
6. Cataclysmic
7. San Francisco Blue
8. Keep on Movin'
9. All of My Life
10. A Phase I'm Going Through
11. Scarborough Stomp
12. Butterfly and Zebra
13. If There Is No Heaven
14. Stars Race Across the Sky
15. Goodbye Supernova

Customer Reviews (2.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Not worthy of Jee

posted on 03/16/2017
2 Stars
Reviewer: Dr Tim O'Shea
On a recent flight to Asia listened to the entire album twice through an excellent system. Long time fan. Master works: Flying in a Blue Dream-- a classic for the ages. We know what Joe is capable of , not just chops- wise, but compositionally, melodically, dynamically, and musically. This outing is a triumph of recording excellence, but an abysmal failure musically. Instantly forgettable because after laying down these very solid, powerful rhythm tracks, there's no composition, no structure, no melody, no memorable Satriani fire. It's elevator music with a great drummer. Hoping it doesn't mean the wellspring is dry-- just shows the pressures of the studio to deliver on a schedule that the artist couldn't meet emotionally, spiritually, or ... Satriani has set the bar so high, given his evolution over the past 2 decades--we want the equal - at least - of Flying in a Blue Dream, or Why, or Rubina's Blue Sky or... Delete all guitar tracks and try again Joe please!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.