Christina Pluhar - Music for a While - Improvisations on Purcell


Warner Classics International



Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 88kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 88kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 1.30GB Total play length: 1:16:19

Cover art included, liner notes not included

After the intoxicating heat of Mediterraneo, released in 2013, Christina Pluhar and her ensemble L’Arpeggiata – again in the company of countertenor Philippe Jaroussky, soprano Raquel Andueza and alto singer Vincenzo Capezzuto – now head to the cooler climes of England with Music for a while, an album based on the haunting, graceful and sometimes deeply moving music of Henry Purcell.

Often considered England’s greatest composer, Purcell (1659-1695) represents an especially good match for the aesthetic of L’Arpeggiata: he made frequent use of the ground bass, a repeated (ostinato) figure in the lower line – the most famous instance of this occurs in Dido’s lament ‘When I am laid in earth’, the closing number from his opera Dido and Aeneas. The ground bass provides an ideal foundation for the brilliant, sometimes jazz-like improvisation that is the stock-in-trade of the L’Arpeggiata, here comprising singers, (plucked) strings, wind instruments, keyboard and percussion.

1. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: The Mock Marriage : Twas within a furlong, Z. 605/2
2. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: Oedipus, King of Thebes: Music for a while, Z. 583/2
3. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: Come, ye sons of art away (Birthday Ode for Queen Mary): Strike the viol, Z. 323/5
4. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: Now that the sun hath veiled his light (An Evening Hymn on a Ground), Z. 193
5. Purcell: Hail! bright Cecilia (Ode for St. Cecilia's Day): In vain the am'rous flute, Z. 328/10
6. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: Who can from joy refrain? (Birthday Ode for the Duke of Gloucester): A prince of glorious race descended, Z. 342/3
7. Purcell: O solitude, my sweetest choice, Z. 406
8. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: Dido and Aeneas: When I am laid in earth, Z. 626/38
9. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: Hail! bright Cecilia (Ode for St Cecilia's Day): Wondrous machine, Z. 328/8
10. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: Welcome to all the pleasures (Ode for St Cecilia's Day): Here the deities approve, Z. 339/3
11. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: Dido and Aeneas: Ah! Belinda, Z. 626/3
12. Purcell: Timon of Athens: Hark! how the songsters of the grove, Z. 632/2
13. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: Secresy's Song, from The Fairy Queen: One charming night, Z. 629/13
14. Purcell: The Mock Marriage: Man is for the woman made, Z. 605/3
15. Purcell: The Fairy Queen: O let me weep (The Plaint), Z. 629/40
16. Purcell / Arr Pluhar: Timon of Athens: Curtain Tune on a Ground, Z. 632/13
17. Cohen: Hallelujah

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it